Print x close window
About Wayne County

Wayne County, which is located in the east-central part of North Carolina, is bounded on the north by Wilson County; on the west by Johnston County; on the south by Sampson and Duplin counties; and on the east by Lenoir and Greene counties. The area is 554 square miles (354,560 acres). The elevation of the county varies from around 120 feet in its eastern section to 145 feet along the western border.

Wayne County, named for General Anthony Wayne of Revolutionary War fame, was formed in 1779 from part of Dobbs County. Originally inhabited by Native Americans of the Tuscarora tribe, the region was settled by English and Scotch-Irish immigrants. The county seat was originally Waynesborough, but in 1847 it was moved to Goldsboro, which lies on the Neuse River and is the largest city in the county.

North Carolina Governor Charles B. Aycock was born in Wayne County and Seymour Johnson Air Force Base is located there.

Chris Bingham