Print x close window
About Tyrrell County

Tyrrell County, which is located in the northeastern section of North Carolina, is bounded on the north by Albemarle Sound; on the west by Washington County; on the south by Hyde County; and on the east by the Alligator River and Dare County. Its area comprises 390 square miles (249,600 acres). The elevation ranges from sea level to about 19 feet along Albemarle Sound, although most of the county is nearly flat and includes numerous swamps.

Tyrrell County was established in 1729 from parts of Chowan, Bertie, Currituck, and Pasquotank counties. Originally inhabited by Native Americans of the Wachapunga tribe, the region was settled by English and Scotch immigrants. Named in honor of Sir John Tyrrell, one of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina, the county has remained very rural throughout its history. Columbia, located on the banks of Albemarle Sound, is the county seat.

Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife Refuge is located in the county and takes up much of its total area.

Chris Bingham