Print x close window
About Onslow County

Onslow County, located in the southeastern part of North Carolina, is bounded on the north by Jones County; on the west by Duplin and Pender counties; on the south by the Atlantic Ocean; and on the east by Carteret County. Its area is 750 square miles (480,000 acres). The elevation ranges from about sea level to nearly 51 feet in the northern portion of the county.

This county was formed in 1734 from the county of Bath. Originally inhabited by Native Americans of the Waccamau tribe, Onslow County was settled primarily by French Huguenots and Scotch-Irish from the Wilmington area. The county was named after Arthur Onslow, speaker of the British House of Commons. Jacksonville, located on the New River, is the county seat and the largest city.

Camp Lejeune Marine Corps Base is located in the county.

Chris Bingham