Print x close window
About Carteret County

Carteret County, which is located in the southeastern part of North Carolina, is bounded on the north by Pamlico Sound and Craven and Pamlico counties; on the west by Jones and Onslow counties; and on the south and east by the Atlantic Ocean. The area is 532 square miles (340,480 acres). The elevation of the county ranges from 10 feet at Beaufort to nearly 30 feet at Stella in the northwestern corner.

Carteret County was formed in 1722 from part of Craven County. It was named in honor of Sir John Carteret, one of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina. Native Americans of the Waccamau and Coree tribes originally inhabited the region, but were displaced by the arrival of English settlers into the area. Beaufort, one of the state's major ports, was established in 1723 and is the county seat.

Fort Macon State Park, the site of a battle during the Civil War (1862), Cedar Island National Wildlife Refuge, and part of Croatan National Forest are all located in the county.

Chris Bingham