NCPI Workmark
Articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

Saltwater Fishing License Becomes Law

Record #:
The 2004 North Carolina General Assembly passed legislation creating a saltwater fishing license. The issue had been debated for over a decade. Fishermen will not be required to have the license until January 1, 2006. Then residents and nonresidents who fish from the shore or a boat in the state's marine waters will be required to purchase the $15 license annually. Vacationers may purchase a seven-day license for $1.