NCPI Workmark
Articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

Grand Masters Spaight, Jerkins, and Clark

Record #:
There have been four Grand Masters of the Grand Lodge, St. John's Lodge with Grand Jurisdiction of North Carolina. From 1791 to 1811, John Louis Taylor served as Grand Master for three terms, later attaining fame as a lawyer and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. Following Richard Dobbs Spaight's retirement in 1832, it was not until 1850 that Alonzo T. Jerkins, prominently connected in industry, finance, and transportation, became Grand Master. Following Jerkins three consecutive terms as Grand Master, Charles Cauthen Clark, a native of New Bern and member of Congress, was elected Grand Master in 1870.