NCPI Workmark
Articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

Courts, Crimes, and Criminals on the North Carolina Appalachian Frontier, 1782-1792: A Study Based on Court Records

Record #:
In 1782 the Revolutionary government established a district court system which appointed a superior court in seven districts; Morgan, Edenton, Halifax, Wilmington, New Bern, Salisbury, and Hillsborough. These courts were responsible for judicial, political, military, and administrative matters. Dr. Phifer reviewed ten years of Morgan district court records and the raw data is presented here but analysis is missing because of his death.
Carolina Comments (NoCar F 251 C38), Vol. 31 Issue 5, Sept 1983, p131-139