NCPI Workmark
Articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

The Four Half and Half Towns

Record #:
Edgecombe and Nash Counties geographically compete for four towns: Rocky Mount, Battleboro, Whitakers, and Sharpsburg; Sharpsburg and Rocky Mount are claimed by additional counties. This article discusses the history of these shared borders as well as the governmental implications of communal county lines.
The State (NoCar F 251 S77), Vol. 20 Issue 24, Nov 1952, p10-11, 31, il