East Carolina Logo

Edmund Harding to Bath Commission, 30 July 1960

Edmund H. Harding was appointed chair of the Historic Bath Commission when it was created by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1959. By 1960, work was well under way to restore the Palmer-Marsh house, and in this letter to the commission and its ancillary group, The Chairman’s Group of Fifty, Harding outlines plans for a benefit concert to raise money to reshingle the Palmer-Marsh house roof.

Image(s) from Letter
Image of Letter:
Higher Resolution Image

Image(s) from Letter
Image of Letter:
Higher Resolution Image



Mrs. Fred W. Morrison, V-Chm.
Mrs. Wilton Smith, Secretary
James A Stenhouse
Consulting Architect

Edmund H. Harding, Chm., Box 2, Washington, N. C.
Dan M. Paul, Finance Officer, Box 10065, Cameron Village, Raleigh, N. C.

Washington, N.C.
July 30, 1960

To All Members of the Committee
of Fifty and
Members of Historic Bath Commission.


You are aware of course that the modern composition roof on the Marsh House must be replaced with a shingle roof in keeping with the period of the house. We must raise the money to pay f or [sic] it.

The Washington High School Band and its Director Jimmy Larkin, have kindly offered to give a Band Concert in Bath on the afternoon of Wednesday, August 10th at five o'clock.

The admission or donation to the concert will be 10 shingles or 50¢. Each ticket will be good for valuable prizes to be given away and the winner does not have to be present to win. The donation you make is also deductible from State and Federal taxes.

Enclosed is a book of twenty tickets $10.00 or 200 shingles. We need 40,000 shingles to cover the house.

It will be easy for you to sell these tickets for this cause, or buy them yourself. Fill in the name on the coupon—make check payable to Beaufort County Historical Society and mail in the enclosed, self addressed envelope.

Many thanks for your usual fine help.

[Signature] Edmund H Harding
Edmund H. Harding, Chm.


W. Harold Butt
Charleston, S. C.
Edmund H. Harding
Washington, N. C.
Grayson Harding
Edenton, N. C.
Mrs. Ernest S. Ives
Southern Pines, N. C.

Mrs. Edmund T. Knott
Washington, N. C.

Mrs. John W. Labouisse
Durham, N. C.

Mrs. Fred W. Morrison
Washington, D. C.

Rev. A. C. D. Noe
Bath, N. C.
Mrs. Oscar F. Smith
Norfolk, Virginia
Mrs. Wilton Smith
Bath, N. C.
Hon. B. A. Brooks
Mayor, Bath, N. C.

Dan M. Paul
Raleigh, N. C.

Mrs. Mary Fowle Sterns
Raleigh, N. C.

Mrs. Rachel Tankard
Bath, N. C.

Hon. Lindsay C. Warren
Washington, N. C.
Hon. Wayland J. Sermons
Washington, N. C.
Dr. Christopher Crittenden
Raleigh, N. C.
Hon. Sam Moore, Chm.
Beaufort County Com.

[page 2]

Mrs. Charles A. Cannon Concord, N. C.
Mrs. Luther H. Hodges Raleigh, N. C.
Mr. Carl Goerch Raleigh, N. C.
Mr. E. K. Willis Concord, N. C.
Mrs. Harry McMullan Washington, N. C.
Mrs. F. S. Worthy Washington, N. C.
Hon. Herbert C. Bonner Washington, N. C.
Hon. Everett Jordan Saxapahaw, N. C.
Hon. D. L. Ward New Bern, N. C.
Mrs. Inglis Fletcher Edenton, N. C.
Mrs. Claud Venters Bath, N. C.
Mr. O. J. Gaylord Bath, N. C.
Mr. Donald Carrow Bath, N. C.
Rev. Stanleigh Jenkins Washington, N. C.
Mr. Jamie Archbell Bath, N. C.
Mr. John Whalen Bath, N. C.
Mrs. John A. Tankard Norfolk, Va.
Mr. William B. Midyette Bath, N. C.
Mr. J. A. Beasley Norfolk, Va.
Mr. Leslie Taylor West Palm Beach, Fla.
Dr. W. T. Ralph Belhaven, N. C.
Mrs. Scott Topping Pantego, N. C.
Mrs. W. C. Olsen Raleigh, N. C.
Mrs. Jack Price Raleigh, N. C.
Mrs. Sam Clark Tarboro, N. C.
Mrs. J. O. Talley Fayetteville, N. C.
Rear Admiral W. W. Studdert Midland, Texas
Mr. Sam Tarlton Raleigh, N. C.
Hon. William B. Rodman Raleigh, N. C.
Rt. Rev. Thomas H. Wright, D.D. Wilmington, N. C.
Mrs. J. L. McLaurin Bath, N. C.
Mr. Raymond Taylor Washington, N. C.
Dr. Herbert Paschal Greenville, N. C.
Mr. Joseph Jett Norfolk, Va.
Col. C. Wingate Reed Washington, N. C.
Mrs. T. A. Brooks Washington, N. C.
Bishop Paul N. Garber Richmond, Va.
Mr. Aycock Brown Manteo, N. C.
Mrs. Stuart Gaul Charlotte, N. C.
Mrs. Emitt Winslow Hertford, N. C.
Mr. Robert A. Fowle Washington, N. C.
Mr. Ashley Futrell Washington, N. C.
Mr. Lemuel Blades, Jr. Elizabeth City, N. C.
Mr. Frank Horton Winston-Salem, N. C.
Dr. John B. Bonner Aurora, N. C.
Mrs. William McLean Washington, N. C.
Miss Nominia McCrea Asheville, N. C.
Mrs. Pratt Thomas Columbus, Mississippi
Mrs. G. W. Marsh Bath, N. C.
Mr. James S. Hill Washington, N. C.

Location: Special Collections, Joyner Library, East Carolina University
Call Number: Inglis Fletcher Papers, #21.14.b
Collection: Inglis Fletcher Papers

East Carolina University Logo Contact Us
Joyner Library
East Carolina University
East Fifth Street
Greenville, NC 27858-4353 USA