FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS October 1, 2013



The following people have been granted **speaking privileges** for today's meeting: Rick Niswander, Donna Payne, Paul Gemperline, and members of all committees reporting today.

2. The Teaching Grants Committee is pleased to announce limited funding for Teaching Grant proposals for the upcoming 2014/15 academic year. The 2014/15 Teaching Grant proposal guidelines are available online where noted below. The purpose of these grants is to support new innovative and/or creative teaching approaches with aims to improve instruction at the University. Full time tenured, tenure-track, and fixed term faculty members are eligible to apply for these grants. Grant deadline is Monday, November 4 at 12 noon. Please contact Professor Donna Roberson, Chair of the Teaching Grants Committee at #744-6380 or robersondo@ecu.edu with questions.

http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/customcf/committee/tg/proposal.docx

- Thanks to the following Faculty Senate Alternates who graciously agreed to serve today as tellers during elections: Professor Beth Ketterman (Health Sciences Library) and Professor Crystal Chambers (Education).
- The University Academic Service Learning Committee asks Faculty Senators to share information with faculty regarding the process for service-learning course designation and upcoming deadlines in their respective units.

<u>Deadlines for service-learning course designation submissions</u> <u>October 15</u> of each year for designation in upcoming Spring semester <u>March 15</u> of each year for designation in upcoming Fall semester



5.

Faculty members interested in obtaining a service-learning course designation are invited to submit to the Service Learning Committee an application form, course questionnaire, and course syllabus that includes a brief description of the course, learning objectives, and how learning will be assessed. The form and questionnaire are available on the committee's website in a downloadable Word format at: <u>http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/sl/servicelearning.cfm</u>. Following approval by the Committee, Faculty Senate, and Chancellor, courses approved for the "SL" designation will be listed as such in both the University undergraduate and graduate catalogs. Prior to the course submission deadline, faculty are encouraged to submit electronic pdf documents to members of the Service Learning Committee via <u>svc@ecu.edu</u>. Faculty may also direct any questions to Professor Kylie Dotson-Blake, Chair of the Service Learning Committee at 328-5277.

The Committee on Committees is **seeking nominees** from the faculty for the election of <u>two</u> delegates and <u>two</u> alternates to the **2014-2015 UNC Faculty Assembly**. Nominees should be full-time faculty, holding no administrative duties outside his/her department. A formal list of nominees will be submitted to the Faculty Senate for consideration in January 2014, with new terms beginning July 1, 2014. Information will be distributed to all faculty and nominations are due in the Faculty Senate office by <u>November 1, 2013</u>. A list of the current Faculty Assembly delegation is available

online at: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/customcf/rosters/facultyassembly.pdf.

Faculty members not located on main campus and who serve on various academic standing committees are reminded of **special courtesy parking permits** available from academic administrators and the office of Parking and Transportation Services. Special Courtesy Permits allow faculty members attending meetings, etc. to park in "A1/B1" lots on main campus. These permits are issued to unit heads at no charge and are to be used in conjunction with a paid parking permit. Additional information is available from Parking and Transportation Services at 328-1961.

over.....