Lee, Lori

From:

Lee, Lori

nt:

Thursday, April 18, 2013 7:10 PM

To:

'FACULTY-L@LISTSERV.ECU.EDU' (FACULTY-L@LISTSERV.ECU.EDU)

Subject:

Withdrawal of Candidacy

This is being sent on behalf of Professor Derek Maher, Chair of the Faculty Officers' Nominating Committee.

Dear Faculty Colleagues,

Following Professor Mark Sprague's decision not to seek another term as Chair of the Faculty, the Faculty Officers' Nominating Committee is reopening the deliberations over the future leadership of the Faculty.

The agenda for the April 23 Faculty Senate Organizational Meeting was distributed earlier this week and is linked below. One of the primary tasks at that meeting will be the election of our faculty leaders. With Professor Sprague's decision not to seek another term, the list of nominees for the three faculty leadership positions needs to be reconsidered and the opportunity to serve in any of the three leadership positions offered again to all eligible faculty at ECU.

As a reminder, all full-time, permanently tenured faculty members are eligible to serve as Chair or Vice Chair of the Faculty. All full-time faculty members of East Carolina University in at least their econd year of appointment are eligible to serve as Secretary of the Faculty. For additional details, please consult the ECU Faculty Manual, Part II, Section II.

In order to move forward with strong faculty leadership, the nominating committee will need to act swiftly to garner a list of interested faculty leaders. Therefore, we encourage all eligible faculty members to consider serving in a faculty leadership role during this important time in the history of ECU.

Please contact a member of the Faculty Officers' Nominating Committee with nominations, including self-nominations. Those members include Professors Derek Maher (Philosophy and Religious Studies) (Chair), Bob Kulesher (Allied Health Sciences), Patricia Anderson (Education), Nelson Cooper (Health and Human Performance), and Jeff Popke (Geography). Our goal is to finalize the list of faculty leadership nominees by 3:00 on Monday, April 22.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

4/23/13 Faculty Senate Agenda: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/customcf/fsagenda/2013/fsa4132.pdf

Sincere regards, Derek



Derek F. Maher, PhD

Associate Professor
Director, Religious Studies Program
Office: Austin 325C
maherd@ecu.edu
www.ecu.edu/religionprogram

Mailing address:
Brewster A-327
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858

From: East Carolina University Faculty Senate [mailto:FACULTY-L@LISTSERV.ECU.EDU] On Behalf Of Lee, Lori

Sent: Thursday, April 18, 2013 5:20 PM
To: FACULTY-L@LISTSERV.ECU.EDU
Subject: Withdrawal of Candidacy

This is being sent on behalf of Professor Mark Sprague, Chair of the Faculty.

Dear ECU Faculty:

I have decided to withdraw my name from nomination for Chair of the Faculty. After an honest examination of all my commitments and the expectations of the person serving as Chair, I have concluded that it would be best if I devote my efforts elsewhere. I have reconvened the Nominating Committee for Faculty Officers and asked them to reconsider the nominations for all of the officer positions. Information about a new slate of nominees will be forthcoming. It has been an honor to serve you as Chair of the Faculty for the last year. I will do everything possible to facilitate a smooth transition to the next Chair.

Sincerely,

Mark Sprague

Mark W. Sprague, Ph.D. spraguem@ecu.edu

Chair of the Faculty 140 Rawl Annex, MS 109 252-328-6537

Associate Professor Dept. of Physics, MS 563 252-328-6739

East Carolina University Greenville, NC 27858, USA