

Faculty Senate

0094

East Carolina University
140 Rawl Annex Building • Greenville, NC 27858-4353
252-328-6537 office • 252-328-6122 fax

facultysenate@ecu.edu • www.ecu.edu/fsonline

Mark Sprague
Chair of the Faculty
Department of Physics

Andrew Morehead
Vice Chair of the Faculty
Department of Chemistry

Cheryl McFadden
Secretary of the Faculty
College of Education

Ken Wilson

Parliamentarian

Department of Sociology

November 7, 2012

Chancellor Steve Ballard East Carolina University Spilman Building

Dear Dr. Ballard,

On November 6, 2012, the Faculty Senate adopted the following resolutions for your consideration. For your convenience, the resolutions are provided as an electronic link and/or attachment.

- 12-91 Fall 2012 Graduation Roster, including honors program graduates.
- 12-92 Curriculum matters included in the <u>September 10, 2012</u> Writing Across the Curriculum Committee meeting minutes.
- Journal faculty advice on the curriculum and academic matters contained in the September 19, 2012 and October 3, 2012 Graduate Curriculum Committee meeting minutes.
- 12-94 Curriculum and academic matters contained in the <u>September 27, 2012</u>, and <u>October 11, 2012</u> University Curriculum meeting minutes.
- 12-95 Curriculum matters contained in the October 16, 2012 Service Learning Committee meeting minutes.
- 212-96 Curriculum and academic program matters included in the October 12, 2012, Educational Policies and Planning Committee meeting minutes.
- 12-97 Revised Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee Charge (attachment 1).
- 12-98 Removal of foundations credit from several Department of Philosophy courses and Department of Political Science courses.
 - 12-99 Revised Student Perception of Teaching Survey (SPOTS) Face-to-Face Form (attachment 2).
- 12-100 Formal faculty advice on <u>University Behavioral Concerns Team</u> Interim Regulation (attachment 3).

There was also one resolution that does not require action from you at this time.

12-101 Limiting the teaching grants' monetary amount awarded for summer stipends to no more than \$10,000 (attachment 4).

East Carolina University is a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina. An equal opportunity/affirmative action university, which accommodates the needs of individuals with disabilities.

MEMORANDUM November 7, 2012 Page 2.

In addition, there was an editorial correction made to the University Environment Committee's charge to reflect the accurate number of 4 elected members exclusive of ex-officio to equal a quorum. This correction corresponds with all other standing university academic committee charges with the same number of 7 elected faculty members. Attached is the editorially revised charge for your information (attachment 5).

Thank you for your consideration of the above mentioned resolutions.

Sincerely,

Mark Sprague Chair of the Faculty

attachments

copy via email
Faculty Officers
Marilyn Sheerer, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Phyllis Horns, Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences
Ron Mitchelson, Interim Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies