FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS April 19, 2011

The Chancellor has approved the following resolutions from the March 29, 2011, Faculty Senate meeting:

- 11-28 Approval of the Spring 2011 Graduation Roster, including honors program graduates, subject to the complete of degree requirements.
- 2. Academic Committee Chairs are reminded that **Committee Annual Reports** are due in the Faculty Senate office by May 1, 2011.
- 3. **Speaking privileges** have been granted to Donna Payne, George Bailey, Rick Niswander, Maggie Ohara, Rich Ramirez, David Weismiller, John Toller, Tremayne Smith, and members of all standing academic committees reporting today.
- 4. Faculty Senators are asked to please turn off (or put on silent) their **phones and beepers** during the meeting.
- Following the Scholarship Workshop last month, the Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid Committee has worked with the Financial Aid office to provide an online list of University Scholarships available to students at: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/financial/scholarbycollege.cfm#a4.
- Several important university-wide celebratory activities are occurring on <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>April 26</u>, <u>2011</u>, in addition to the Faculty Senate's organizational meeting scheduled on this day from 2:10 4 p.m. and an open Faculty Forum to discuss budget matters, from 4:15-5:30 p.m.

The annual University Awards Day, a ceremony for honoring and recognizing outstanding faculty, staff and students and will be held at 9 a.m. in the Hendrix Theatre in addition to the following events:

- The dedication of the Freedom Wall and Memorial Walk in honor and memory of students, staff and faculty who have served in defense of the nation at 11 a.m. at the current site of the Victory Bell adjacent to Christenbury Gymnasium.
- The re-opening celebration of the Mamie Jenkins Building as the new home of the ECU Honors College at 2 p.m.
- 7. A preliminary **call for nominations** for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, East Carolina Alumni Association Outstanding Teaching Award and Robert L. Jones Teaching Award will be distributed soon to all academic unit heads. Nomination materials will be due <u>September 1</u> and portfolios due <u>November 1</u>. Information on the different award nominating procedures are available at http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/aa/academicawards.cfm.
- 8. Faculty interested in periodically receiving issues of *The Chronicle of Higher Education* are asked to call the Faculty Senate office at 328-6537 and place their name on a list for distribution.
- Thanks to Chancellor Ballard for the refreshments provided at each Faculty Senate meeting.