## FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS April 21, 2009

The Chancellor has approved the following resolution from the February 24, 2009, Faculty Senate meeting: 09-13 Curriculum matters contained in the minutes of the <u>January 22, 2009</u>, and <u>February 12, 2009</u>, Committee meetings.

The Chancellor has approved the following resolutions from the March 31, 2009, Faculty Senate meeting:

- 09-16 Spring 2009 Graduation Roster, including honors program graduates, subject to the complete of degree requirements.
- 09-20 Addition to ECU Faculty Manual, Appendix D, Section V. Procedure for Review of Notice of Non-Reappointment or Non-Conferral of Permanent Tenure.
- The Chancellor has rescinded his approval of the following resolution from the March 31, 2009, Faculty Senate meeting: 09-19 Revisions to the ECU Faculty Manual, Appendix C, Personnel Policies and Procedures for the Faculty of ECU.
- 3. Speaking privileges have been granted to members of any of the academic committees reporting, Brenda Killingsworth and Donna Payne.
- Academic units still needing to report their 2009/2010 Faculty Senate elections include: Allied Health Sciences, Art and Design, Chemistry, Education, Hospitality Management, Mathematics, and Nursing.
- 5. The annual **Teaching Awards Ceremony** is scheduled for <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>April 28</u>, <u>2009</u>, at 11:00 a.m. in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room. Past award winners will be asked to recognize this year's winners. A reception will follow immediately afterwards. Faculty awarded for their teaching achievements will be recognized at this event and all faculty are welcome to attend the ceremony.
- 6. All are invited to an **Open Forum discussion of ECU budget matters** in the Hendrix Theatre on Wednesday, May 6, 2009, from 5:30-6:30 p.m. Vice Chancellor of Administration and Finance Kevin Seitz will be discussing future (2009-2010 and beyond) ECU budgetary challenges. If you are unable to attend, a live videocast of the forum will be broadcast at:

  <a href="http://mediasite2.ecu.edu/ITCS/Viewer/?peid=80ec8aee2ac4402b98c922b89e65">http://mediasite2.ecu.edu/ITCS/Viewer/?peid=80ec8aee2ac4402b98c922b89e65</a>
  67f2.

If you wish to send in an email question for VC Seitz during the forum, the Mediasite has a moderation function through which viewers can ask questions while watching the live presentation. The Ask button will be above the video

during the presentation and will open up a popup box (you will need to disable any popup controls by holding the ctrl button at the same time you click the link) that will have a subject line, email address from the submitter of the question, and a place for the question itself.

- Academic Committee Chairs are reminded that Committee Annual Reports are due in the Faculty Senate office by <u>Friday</u>, <u>May 1, 2009</u>.
- 8. A preliminary **call for nominations** for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, Alumni Award for Outstanding Teaching, and University Award for Outstanding Teaching will be distributed in early May. Nomination materials will be due September 1 and portfolios due November 1. Information on the different award nominating procedures is available online at: <a href="http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/aa/academicawards.cfm">http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/aa/academicawards.cfm</a>.
- 9. Faculty interested in periodically receiving issues of *The Chronicle of Higher Education* are asked to call the Faculty Senate office at 328-6537 and place their name on a list for distribution.
- 10. In an effort to keep faculty members informed of campus activities, Board of Trustees meeting agendas and schedules are distributed electronically to all faculty. Faculty are welcome to attend these open meetings.
- 11. The following resolution will require general faculty approval at this Fall's Faculty Convocation, scheduled for Monday, August 24, 2009, in the Wright Auditorium.

Resolution #09-06

Approved by the Faculty Senate: January 27, 2009

Approved by the General Faculty: pending Approved by the Chancellor: pending

Revisions to the *ECU Faculty Manual*, Appendix A. Faculty Constitution, Section VII. Method of Election of the Faculty Senate to read as follows: (Additions are noted in **bold** print)

"Each senator shall serve a two-year term. Senators may be elected to succeed themselves twice. After a lapse of one year following the expiration of this third term, they will again be eligible for election. The seat of an elected senator who fails to attend more than three consecutively held meetings of the Faculty Senate shall be declared vacated by the Chair of the Faculty. If a senator is awarded a research or medical leave and an alternate senator attends in his or her place, the three consecutive meeting rule will not be invoked."

12. The following faculty members are graduates of the Engagement and Outreach Scholars Academy and were honored at the ceremony on April 20, 2009. More

information on their specific projects is available through the Center for Faculty Excellence.

Jane Painter, College of Allied Health Sciences
Sharon D. Rogers, College of Health and Human Performance
Michael Harris, College of Business
David N. Collier, Brody School of Medicine
Jeannie Golden, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences
Paige Averett, College of Human Ecology
Gene Dixon, College of Technology and Computer Science
Kim L. Larson, College of Nursing
Rebecca Dumlao, College of Fine Arts and Communication
Kylie Dotson-Blake, College of Education