

Faculty Senate

East Carolina University
140 Rawl Annex Building • Greenville, NC 27858-4353
252-328-6537 office • 252-328-6122 fax
facultysenate@ecu.edu • www.ecu.edu/fsonline

August 26, 2009

Chancellor Steve Ballard East Carolina University Spilman Building

Dear Dr. Ballard:

As you know, on August 24, 2009, during Fall Faculty Convocation the general faculty adopted the following Faculty Senate resolution. Thank you, in advance, for your consideration of this revision to Appendix A of the ECU Faculty Manual.

Faculty Senate Resolution #09-06

Approved by the Faculty Senate: January 27, 2009 Approved by the General Faculty: August 24, 2009

Approved by the Chancellor: pending

Revisions to the *ECU Faculty Manual*, Appendix A. Faculty Constitution, Section VII. Method of Election of the Faculty Senate to read as follows: (Additions are noted in **bold** print)

"Each senator shall serve a two-year term. Senators may be elected to succeed themselves twice. After a lapse of one year following the expiration of this third term, they will again be eligible for election. The seat of an elected senator who fails to attend more than three consecutively held meetings of the Faculty Senate shall be declared vacated by the Chair of the Faculty. If a senator is awarded a research or medical leave and an alternate senator attends in his or her place, the three consecutive meeting rule will not be invoked."

Sincerely,

Marianna Walker
Chair of the Faculty

copy via email to:

Faculty Officers
Marilyn Sheerer, Provost & Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs
Phyllis Horns, Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences
Deirdre Mageean, Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies

East Carolina University is a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina. An equal opportunity/affirmative action university, which accommodates the needs of individuals with disabilities.