FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS

October 7, 2008

We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly: a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues. b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to the Chair of the Faculty.

Faculty are encouraged to participate in the Question Period of the Faculty Senate meeting. This 2. period allows faculty an opportunity to ask questions of administrators and others present relating to activities of the administration or Faculty Senate committees.

3.

- We have the following vacancies on standing University Committees and ask that anyone interested please contact Janice Tovey, Chair of the Faculty, at toveyj@ecu.edu.
 - Admission and Retention Policies Committee, Chair of the Faculty representative
 - Calendar Committee, Faculty Senate representative
 - Continuing and Career Education Committee, Faculty Senate representative
 - Libraries Committee, Chair of the Faculty representative
 - Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee, two regular member terms (2009, 2011)
 - Teaching Grants Committee, regular member term

6.

- The following people have been granted speaking privileges for today's meeting: 4. Wanda Scarborough (Student Stores), Willie Lee (University Printing), Rob Lange (Admissions), Patricia Anderson (Education), and Paul Cunningham (Medicine).
- Faculty are eligible for the following university-wide teaching awards: Board of Governors Award for 5. Excellence in Teaching, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, Alumni Award for Outstanding Teaching, and Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing Education. Portfolios of nominated faculty members are due November 3, 2008. Evaluation materials submitted by past year's winners are available for review in the Center for Faculty Excellence (Old Cafeteria, room 2305, 328-6470). A description of each award is available online at: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/aa/academicawards.cfm.
 - The deadline for submission of nomination materials for the annual Lifetime and Five-Year University Research/Creative Activity Awards (which includes 7 copies of departmental and unit review committee nominating letters, complete CV, and 3 letters from outside referees) is November 3, 2008 (November 3, 2008). Evaluation materials submitted by past year's winners are available for review in the Center for Faculty Excellence (Old Cafeteria, room 2305, 328-6470). All relevant procedures are available online at: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/customcf/committee/aa/researchspecifics.htm.
- The Committee on Committees is seeking nominees from the faculty for the election of one delegate 7. and one alternate to the 2009-2010 UNC Faculty Assembly. Nominees should be full-time faculty, holding no administrative duties outside his/her department. The names of those nominated to the

Committee on Committees will be submitted to the Faculty Senate in January 2009. Following elections, the new delegates and alternates will begin their terms in August 2009. Information has been distributed to all faculty and nomination forms will be due in the Faculty Senate office by Tuesday, November 4, 2008.