

Office of the Chancellor

East Carolina University
105 Spilman Building • Greenville, NC 27858-4353
252-328-6212 office • 252-328-4155 fax
www.ecu.edu

To:

Professor Jan Tovey

Chair of the Faculty

From:

Steve Ballard

Chancellor

Date:

October 22, 2008

Subject:

Faculty Senate Resolutions 08-37 and 08-38

I recommend that **Resolution 08-37** be referred to the UNC Tomorrow Task Force for further consideration/study. The findings of the UNC Tomorrow Commission and the response of ECU to the guidelines of the Commission were filed before action on this resolution was taken.

This resolution deals with issues that are under consideration by the Strategic Enrollment Management Task Force. The issues that are brought forward in the Faculty Senate resolution are part of the dialogue that is ongoing and will continue with the SEM Task Force.

While **Resolution 08-38** (Department of Psychology Unit Code of Operations) was returned previously for failure of VIII. B. Unit Administrator Evaluations to comply with university policy, it has been determined that the revised resolution contains a number of statements that fail to comply with Appendix D of the Faculty Manual. Therefore, I will reject Resolution 08-38 and ask that it be reviewed by the Faculty Senate Unit Code Screening Committee for adherence to Appendix D and for attention to minor editorial changes. Ms. Linda Ingalls in the Provost's Office is available for consultation on these particular issues.

Email copies: Mr. Robert J. Greczyn Jr., Chair, ECU Board of Trustees

Faculty Senate Officers

Dr. Marilyn Sheerer, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic and

Student Life

Dr. Phyllis Horns, Interim Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences

Dr. Deirdre Mageean, Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies