# EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 2007-2008 FACULTY SENATE

The fifth regular meeting of the 2007/2008 Faculty Senate will be held on **Tuesday, January 29, 2008,** at 2:10 p.m. in the Mendenhall Student Center, Great Room.

#### AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes

December 4, 2007

- III. Special Order of the Day
  - A. Roll Call
  - B. Announcements
  - C. Steve Ballard, Chancellor
    Report on Faculty Employment, to include a longitudinal profile of faculty tenure status and tenure status of permanent and temporary faculty (by unit).

Link to Report of the Task Force on Fixed-Term Appointments (9-06)

- D. Marilyn Sheerer, Interim Provost for Academic and Student Affairs
- E. Elizabeth Layman, Member of UNC Tomorrow Commission Link to Final Report on UNC Tomorrow Commission (12-07)
- F. Pat Dunn, Mayor of Greenville
- G. Catherine Rigsby, Faculty Assembly Delegate Report on <u>January 18, 2008</u>, Faculty Assembly Meeting.
- H. Mark Taggart, Chair of the Faculty
- I. Question Period
- IV. Unfinished Business
- V. Report of Committees
  - A. Committee on Committees, Tom Caron

    Nominees for two delegates and two alternates to the UNC Faculty Assembly (attachment).

- B. Educational Policies and Planning Committee, Dale Knickerbocker
  - 1. Request to establish photography as an area of concentration within the Master of Fine Arts degree, School of Art and Design
  - Notice of Intent to Plan Bachelor of Science in Applied Atmospheric Science and Bachelor of Science in Geographic Information Science and Technology, Department of Geography
  - 3. Notice of Intent to Plan Master of Science in Security Studies, Department of Political Science
  - 4. Certificate title change Department of English, Graduate Certificate in Multicultural Literature to Graduate Certificate in Multicultural and Transnational Literature
  - 5. Degree program title change Department of Pharmacology to Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  - Degree program title change Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, Management of Recreation Facilities and Services (MRFS) to Recreation and Park Management (RPM)
- C. University Curriculum Committee, Janice Neil Curriculum matters contained in the minutes of the <u>November 8, 2007</u> and <u>December 13, 2007</u>, Committee meetings.
- D. Unit Code Screening Committee, Garris Conner
  - 1. Proposed new Department of Nutrition and Dietetics' Unit Code of Operation.
  - 2. Proposed revised College of Nursing's Unit Code of Operation.
- VI. New Business

Faculty Senate Agenda January 29, 2008 Attachment 1.

### COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT

Nominees to the UNC Faculty Assembly

### Need two Delegates and two Alternates

# Nominees for 2011 terms

Andrew Morehead, Chemistry
Hunt McKinnon, Interior Design and Merchandising
Mark Taggart, Music
Ralph Scott, Academic Library Services

Faculty Assembly Delegates	Academic Unit	Term	Office Location	Tele #
Mark Taggart*	Music (Chair of the Faculty)	2008	Fletcher 366	328-4278
Brenda Killingsworth	Business	2008	Bate 3134	328-6235
John Cope	Psychology	2008	Rawl 110	328-6497
Ken Wilson	Sociology	2009	Brewster A-418	328-4897
Catherine Rigsby	Geology	2010	Graham 203	328-4297

\*Chair of the Faculty terms begin and end with term in office.

Faculty Assembly Alternates	Academic Unit	Term	Office Location	Tele #
Ralph Scott	Academic Library Services	2008	Joyner 4106	328-0265
Elizabeth Hodge	Education	2008	Bate 2314	328-6175
Andrew Morehead	Chemistry	2009	Science & Tech 564	328-9798
Linda Wolfe	Anthropology	2010	Flanagan 224	328-9453
Connie Ciesielski	Technology and Computer Science	2010	Rawl 336	328-4139