EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 2006-2007 FACULTY SENATE

The third regular meeting of the 2006-2007 Faculty Senate will be held on Tuesday, November 7, 2006, at 2:10 in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room.

FULL AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes
 October 10, 2006
- III. Special Order of the Day
 - A. Roll Call
 - B. Announcements
 - C. Steve Ballard, Chancellor
 Yardley Research Group's Draft Assessment of ECU's Graduate Education and Research
 - D. Deirdre Mageean, Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies

 Report from Task Force on Graduate Education
 - E. Mark Taggart, Chair of the Faculty
 - F. Approval of the Fall 2006 Graduation Roster, including honors program graduates.
 - G. John Cope, Faculty Assembly Delegate
 Report on the November 3, 2006, Faculty Assembly meeting.
 - H. Brief Moment in History, Henry Ferrell
 - I. Question Period
- IV. Unfinished Business
- V. Report of Committees
 - A. Academic Standards Committee, Linda Wolfe
 Recommendation about the Student Opinion of Instruction Survey (attachment 1).
 - B. Committee on Committees, Henry Ferrell
 - 1. Second Reading of Proposed Revisions to the Academic Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee Charge (attachment 2).
 - 2. Nominees for the following Appellate Committees:
 - a. Due Process (attachment 3).
 - b. Grievance Appellate Board (attachment 4).
 - c. Hearing (attachment 5).

- C. Educational Policies and Planning Committee, Dale Knickerbocker For information only
 - Request new concentration in Quality Systems, Master's of Science in Technology Systems, College of Technology and Computer Science.
 - 2. Request new certificate program in Lean Six Sigma, Master's of Science in Technology Systems, College of Technology and Computer Science.
- D. University Curriculum Committee, Janice Neil Curriculum matters contained in the minutes of the <u>October 12, 2006</u>, and October 26, 2006, Committee Meetings.
- VI. New Business

ACADEMIC STANDARDS COMMITTEE REPORT

Recommendation about the Student Opinion of Instruction Survey

The Academic Standards Committee recommends that the Student Opinion of Instruction Survey (SOIS) for all courses be changed to an Internet-based survey delivered in a manner similar to the surveys currently administered to students in Distance Education courses.

Faculty Senate Agenda November 7, 2006 Attachment 2.

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT

Second Reading of Proposed Revisions to the Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee Charge (Addition is noted in **bold** print and deletions are noted in strikethrough.)

- Name: Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee
 - 2. Membership:

14 elected faculty members.

Ex-officio members (with vote): The Chancellor or an appointed representative, the Provost or an appointed representative, the Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences or an appointed representative, the Vice Chancellor for Research or an appointed representative, the Chair of the Faculty and one faculty senator selected by the Chair of the Faculty.

The membership of the committee shall serve according to their disciplinary expertise. Ideally this would include seven members from the College of Arts and Sciences, with at least two each from Humanities, Social Sciences, and the Sciences/Math, and seven members from the Professional Schools and other academic units, with no more than one from each professional school. Each member shall have demonstrated accomplishment in scholarship, research, or creative activity, as evidenced by data submitted for each person nominated by the Committee on Committees or from the floor of the Faculty Senate.

The chair of the committee may invite resource persons as necessary to realize the committee charge. The chair of the committee may appoint such subcommittees as he or she deems necessary.

Quorum: 8 elected members exclusive of ex-officio.

- 4. Committee Responsibilities:
 - A. The committee recommends policies and procedures governing the grant application process, criteria for the awarding of grants, guidelines for the use of research funds, and procedures for annual reporting by grant recipients.
 - B. The committee recommends the funding of meritorious research/creative activity proposals. Members of the committee are **not** permitted to submit proposals for the committee's consideration. No member of the committee may vote on his or her own proposal, but no member is prohibited from voting on any other proposal before the committee. That member of the committee shall not be present when his or her proposal is being considered by the committee.
 - C. The Committee reviews at least annually those sections within the *University Undergraduate Catalog* that corresponds to the Committee's charge and recommends changes as necessary.
- To Whom The Committee Reports: The committee submits recommendations of proposals to be funded to the appropriate vice chancellor and reports the final list of funded proposals to the Faculty Senate. The committee makes recommendations concerning the policies and procedures governing research/creative activity proposals to the Faculty Senate.
- How Often The Committee Reports:
 The committee reports to the Faculty Senate at least once a year and at other times as necessary.
- Power Of The Committee To Act Without Faculty Senate Approval:
 The committee is empowered to make recommendations regarding the funding of research proposals.
- 8. Standard Meeting Time:

The committee does not have a standard meeting time.

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT

Nominees for the Appellate Due Process Committee

Nominee for 2007 term as a Regular Member

John Cope, Psychology

REGULAR MEMBERS (with vote)

Open		2007		
Mark Taggart	Music	2008	Fetcher 366	328-4278
Michael Schinasi	Foreign Languages	2008	Bate 3309	328-6534
Ralph Scott	Academic Library Services	2009	Joyner 4106	328-0265
Christine Zoller	Art and Design	2009	Jenkins 1312	328-1321

ALTERNATE MEMBERS (with vote)

Richard Bloch	Medicine	2007	Brody 4E65A	744-3324
Richard Pozzuto	Social Work	2007	Rivers 318W	328-2105
Alice Arnold	Art & Design	2008	Jenkins 1315	328-6475
Frances Eason	Nursing	2009	LAHN 2135	744-6394
David Long	History	2009	Brewster A-218	328-6956

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT

Nominees for the Grievance Appellate Board

Nominee for 2007 term as a Regular Member

Jonathan Dembo, Academic Library Services

REGULAR MEMBERS (with vote)

Open		2007		
Angela Thompson	History	2007	Brewster A-316	328-1035
John Crammer	Technology & Computer Science	2007	Sci. & Tech. C111	328-9690
Mary Schmidt	Education	2007	Speight 137	328-1102
unam Madhok	Art and Design	2008	Erwin 322	328-6262
Carol Jenkins	Social Work	2008	Austin 311	328-2986
Kenneth MacLeod	Business	2008	Slay 338	328-6637

ALTERNATE MEMBERS (with vote)

Joe Ciechalski	Education	2007	Ragsdale 225	328-4218
Joseph Kalinowski	Allied Health Sciences	2007	Greenville Cntr 2200	328-9852
David Musick	Medicine	2008	Brody 2N 72D	744-2149
Mario Rey	Music	2008	Fletcher 266	328-6197
Nancy Stephenson	Nursing	2008	LAHN 3127	744-6452

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT

Nominees for the Appellate Hearing Committee

Nominees for 2009 terms as Alternate Members

Linda Mooney, Sociology Libby Knott, Education

REGULAR MEMBERS (with vote)

Greg Lapicki	Physics	2007	Howell E308	328-6894
David Long	History	2007	Brewster A218	328-6956
Maury York	Academic Library Svcs	2008	Joyner 3300	328-0252
Claudio Sibata	Medicine	2008	L. Jenkins 172 A	744-3712
Britton Theurer	Music	2009	Fletcher 379	328-6248

ALTERNATE MEMBERS (with vote)

K. Gopalakrishnan	Tech & Computer Sci.	2007	Science 114	328-9688
Jim Kirkland	English	2008	Bate 2102	328-6730
Yong Wang	Geography	2008	Brewster A 223	328-1043
Open		2009		
Open		2009		