FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS October 10, 2006

1. We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly:

a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.

- b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to the Chair of the Faculty.
- Faculty are encouraged to participate in the Question Period of the Faculty Senate meeting. This
 period allows faculty an opportunity to ask questions of administrators and others present relating to
 activities of the administration or Faculty Senate committees.
- 3. The Chancellor has approved the following resolution from the September 12, 2006, Faculty Senate meeting:
 - 06-21 Separation of the Department of Nutrition and Hospitality Management, within the College of Human Ecology, into two departments, the Department of Hospitality Management and the Department of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- 4. Speaking privileges have been granted to members of the Provost's Committee on a Child Care Facility and the Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee.
- 5. Faculty are encouraged to contact the Faculty Senate office if interested in serving on any of the committees currently with vacancies: Educational Policies and Planning (1 year term), Research/Creative Activity Grants (1 year) and University Curriculum Committee (3 year term). Information on all of these committees is available online at: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/academiccommittees/academiccommittees.cfm
 - Interim Vice Chancellor Marilyn Sheerer is establishing a Task Force to explore a Living and Learning Community and welcome faculty involvement. Please contact Mark Taggart at taggartm@ecu.edu if you wish to serve on this Task Force.
- 7. Faculty Senators are being asked to participate in a survey on the UNC Faculty Assembly's Faculty Recruitment and Retention Taskforce. The questions on the survey will require that the respondent have some experience or expertise in faculty searches. To further assist with gathering information for this survey, Faculty Assembly delegates are asking that you communicate (in person or via e-mail) with at least 2 persons in your unit who have experience in conducting faculty searches.

You would need to have them go to http://survey.ecu.edu/perseus/se.ashx?s=401718A55D298D64 to complete the survey. It is imperative that we have at least 3 respondents from each unit and that all survey responses are completed by no later than Friday.october 13, 2006. Thanks for your help in responding to an important request for information from President Bowles.

8. Faculty are eligible for the following university-wide teaching awards: Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, Alumni Award for Outstanding Teaching, and Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing Education. A description of each award is available at: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/aa/academicawards.cfm. Nominations for these teaching awards are due September 1, 2006, in the Faculty Senate office. The deadline for submission of portfolios by nominated faculty members is November 1, 2006. Please contact Dorothy Clayton in the Center for Faculty Development (328-6470) if you have any questions.

- 9. Faculty members not located on main campus (Allied Health Sciences, Health and Human Performance, Health Sciences Library, Medicine, and Nursing,) and who serve on various academic standing committees are reminded of special courtesy parking permits available from the office of Parking and Transportation Services. **Special Courtesy Permits** allow faculty members attending meetings, etc. to park in "A1/B1" lots on main campus. These permits are issued to unit heads at no charge and are to be used in conjunction with a paid parking permit. Additional information is available from Mike Vanderven, Director of Parking and Transportation Services at 328-1961.
- 10. Each Spring and Fall the Academic Awards Committee issues an official call for nominations for the Annual Lifetime and Five-Year University Research/Creative Activity Awards. The deadline for submission of materials (which include 7 copies of departmental and unit review committee nominating letters, complete CV, and 3 letters from outside referees) is November 1, 2006. All relevant procedures are attached and available online at http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/fsonline/customcf/committee/aa/researchspecifics.htm. Please direct any questions to Professor Patricia Dragon, Chair of the Academic Awards Committee, at 328-0296 or dragonp@ecu.edu.
- 11. Al Smith, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Development, has asked for a list of all University courses that have **safety units built into the curriculum**. Please assist Dr. Smith in his efforts by emailing him at smitha@ecu.eduf and identifying any courses within your unit that contain safety units. For more information, please feel free to contact Al Smith at 328-9928.