Faculty Officers' Meeting with Chancellor and Vice Chancellors

Thursday, March 9, 2006, at 11:00 a.m. in 103 Spilman

Discussion Topics

Faculty Senate March 21, 2006, Meeting Agenda

Annual Teaching Awards Ceremony

Provost's Task Force on Childcare Facility

Planning Team for the University's Faculty Development Center

Approved Promotion and Tenure Timeline

Academic Affairs' support for University Curriculum Committee

Reducing textbook costs / Parent's Council / Campus Based Tuition Committee

General Administrations' Review of the Number of University Administrators

Faculty Officers' Candidate Forum scheduled for Tuesday, April 11, 2006, 2:30 – 4:30, Mendenhall Great Room

Changes to Annual Teaching Awards Ceremony

- Cancelled for April 25, 2006
- Names and number of teaching award winners
 Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching (1)
 Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards (6)
 University Award for Outstanding Teaching (2)
 Robert L. Jones (Alumni) Award for Outstanding Teaching (1)
 Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing
 Education (1)
- Formal letter from the Chancellor to each award recipient announcing their selection. (Names of all awardees will be forwarded by the Faculty Senate office to the Chancellor's office by April 1, 2006.)
- Formal email announcement from the Chancellor to the ECU Community following the receipt of letters to the award winners that the winners will be recognized at Spring Commencement and Fall Faculty Convocation.
- Faculty Senate office will hand-delivered an award certificates to each recipient in the spring.
- Names of all faculty winners in Spring Commencement program materials.
- Formal announcement by Chancellor of winners at Spring Commencement.
- Changes to Fall Faculty Convocation on August 21 to include:

30 minutes being added to the convocation schedule. Chancellor will need to ask all academic units to change their unit meeting schedules to accommodate this change.

Announcement of teaching award winners

Board of Governors' winner will sit on stage and present to the group.