EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 2005 TEACHING AWARDS CEREMONY Tuesday, April 26, 2005, at 11:00 a.m. Mendenhall Student Center Great Room



# **Opening Remarks**

Catherine Rigsby, Chair of the Faculty

# II. Presentation of Awards

A. Layton Getsinger, Representative of the ECU Alumni Association Presentation of the 2005 Robert L. Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching Finalists are:

Daniel Bara, Department of Vocal Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Carol Christian, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences Ara Gregorian, Department of Instrumental Music, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Edward Jacobs, Department of Theory, Composition & Musicology, College of Fine Arts and Communication Brian Love, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences David Rowe, Department of Exercise & Sport Science, College of Health & Human Performance Scott Sagraves, Department of Surgery, School of Medicine Catherine Sotir, Department of Family Medicine, School of Medicine Richard Williams, Department of Recreation & Leisure Studies, College of Health & Human Performance

B. Steve Ballard, Chancellor

Presentation of the 2005 University Awards for Outstanding Teaching Finalists are:

Daniel Bara, Department of Vocal Studies, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Carol Christian, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences Ara Gregorian, Department of Instrumental Music, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Edward Jacobs, Department of Theory, Composition & Musicology, College of Fine Arts and Communication Brian Love, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences David Rowe, Department of Exercise & Sport Science, College of Health & Human Performance Scott Sagraves, Department of Surgery, School of Medicine

Richard Williams, Department of Recreation & Leisure Studies, College of Health & Human Performance

#### Presentation of the 2005 Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing Education Finalists are:

Cheryl Estes, Department of Recreation & Leisure Studies, College of Health & Human Performance Mary Ann Rose, Department of Family and Community Nursing, School of Nursing Sue Steinweg, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education Karen Vail-Smith, Department of Health Education & Promotion, College of Health & Human Performance

Presentation of the 2005 Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards Nominees are:

Derek Alderman, Department of Geography, Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Cal Christian, Department of Accounting, College of Business Carol Christian, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Bob Green, Department of Family and Community Nursing, School of Nursing Jeannie Golden, Department of Psychology, Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Ara Gregorian, Department of Instrumental Music, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Elizabeth Hodge, Department of Business, Career, and Technical Education, College of Education Brian Love, Department of Chemistry, Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Jeff Phipps, School of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts and Communication John Reisch, Department of Accounting, College of Business Scott Sagraves, Department of Surgery, Brody School of Medicine Catherine Walker-Bailey, School of Art and Design, College of Fine Arts and Communication Richard Williams, Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, College of Health and Human Performance Sarah Williams, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education Presentation of the 2005 Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching Nominees are:

M. J. Barchman, Department of Internal Medicine, Brody School of Medicine
Ken Bass, Department of Management, College of Business
Ronald Dudek, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Brody School of Medicine
Georgene Eakes, Department of Family and Community Nursing, School of Nursing
Rick Hebert, Department of Management, College of Business
Frank James, Department of Psychiatric Medicine, Brody School of Medicine
Matt Mahar, Department of Exercise and Sport Science, College of Health and Human Performance
Carolyn Ledford, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
Leland Wallin, School of Art and Design, College of Fine Arts and Communication

### III. Special Order of the Day

Remarks by the Recipient of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

# IV. Closing Announcements and Adjournment

A reception, hosted by Chancellor Steve Ballard, will follow the ceremony.

