FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS

Organizational Meeting April 27, 2004

- 1. We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly:
 - a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
 - b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to the Chair of the Faculty.
- 2. A preliminary **call for nominations** for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, Alumni Award for Outstanding Teaching, and University Award for Outstanding Teaching will be distributed soon to all academic unit heads. Copies of the different award nominating procedures are available in the Center for Faculty Development (124 Ragsdale) and Faculty Senate office (140 Rawl Annex). The nomination materials will be due in September 2004, with the award winners recognized in Spring 2005.
- 3. Academic Committee Chairs are reminded that **Committee Annual Reports** are due in the Faculty Senate office by Monday, May 3, 2004.
- 4. In an effort to keep faculty members informed of campus activities, future **Board of Trustees'** meeting agendas and schedules will be distributed electronically to Faculty Senators and Alternates. Faculty are encouraged to attend these open meetings. The next scheduled Board of Trustees meeting is <u>Friday, May</u> 7, 2004.
- 5. Both 2005-2006 applications for Research/Creative Activity Grants and Teaching Grants are now available on the Faculty Senate web sites noted below and in the Faculty Senate office, 140 Rawl Annex. Please call the Faculty Senate office at 328-6537 if you have any questions.
 - Research/Creative Activity Grant Applications due 12:00 noon on Wednesday, September 15, 2004. http://www.ecu.edu/fsonline/AcademicCommittees/rg/researchgrants.htm
 - Teaching Grant Applications due 12:00 noon on Friday, October 1, 2004. http://www.ecu.edu/fsonline/AcademicCommittees/tg/teachinggrants.htm
- 6. Faculty interested in periodically receiving back issues of "The Chronicle of Higher Education" are asked to call the Faculty Senate office (ext. 6537) and place their name on a list for distribution.
- 7. 2004-2005 Faculty Senate and Agenda Committee Meeting Dates are as follows:

Agenda Committee will meet:
August 31, 2004
September 28, 2004
October 26, 2004
November 23, 2004
January 11, 2005
February 8, 2005
March 8, 2005
April 5, 2005

Faculty Senate will meet:
September 14, 2004
October 12, 2004
November 9, 2004
December 7, 2004
January 25, 2005
February 22, 2005
March 22, 2005
April 19, 2005
April 26, 2005, Organizational Meeting

A special thanks is extended to the following Faculty Senate alternates who are serving as tellers today: Harold Stone (Technology and Computer Science), Scott Lecce (Geography), Hunt McKinnon (Interior Design and Merchandising), and John Collins (Philosophy).

Welcome to the following Faculty Senators and Alternates whose terms begin today.

4-27-04

NEW Faculty Senators

Beth Ketterman, Health Sciences Library
John Bishop, Economics
Linda Allred, Psychology
Walter Pofahl, Medicine
Zach Robinson, Mathematics
Paul Fallon, Foreign Languages and Literatures
Scott Thomson, Education
Shonna Tropf, Communication
Georgene Eakes, Nursing
Yong Wang, Geography
Christine Zoller, Art
Umit Yalcin, Philosophy
Greg Funaro, Theatre and Dance
Deb Culbertson, Allied Health Sciences
Christine Avenarius, Anthropology

NEW Alternate Senators

Chris Carolan, Mathematics
Linda James, Education
Elizabeth Hodge, Education
Timothy Jenks, History
Mary Kirkpatrick, Nursing
Chris Grymes, Music
Martin Bier, Physics
Linda Wolfe, Anthropology
Philip Rothman, Economics
Pat Stavrakas-Hodson, Allied Health Sciences