EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 2003 TEACHING AWARDS CEREMONY Wednesday, April 30, 2003, at 11:00 a.m. Mendenhall Student Center Great Room

Opening Remarks

Bob Morrison, Chair of the Faculty

Presentation of Awards

11.

A. Margaret Ward, President of the Alumni Association Presentation of the 2003 Robert L. Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching Finalists are:

David Bjorkman, Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences Charles Ewen, Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences Carol Ferreira, Community Nursing Systems, School of Nursing Christine Gustafson, Instrumental, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Sharon Haley, Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education Judith Hunt, Management, College of Business Hanna Jubran, Sculpture, School of Art, College of Fine Arts and Communication

B. William Swart, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Presentation of the 2003 Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing Education Finalists are:

Evelyn Farrior, Nutrition & Hospitality Management, College of Human Ecology Diane Kester, Librarianship, Education Technology and Distance Instruction, College of Education

C. William Muse, Chancellor

Presentation of the 2003 University Awards for Outstanding Teaching Finalists are:

David Bjorkman, Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences Charles Ewen, Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences Christine Gustafson, Instrumental, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication Judith Hunt, Management, College of Business Hanna Jubran, Sculpture Concentration, School of Art, College of Fine Arts and Communication

Presentation of the 2003 Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards Nominees are:

Abdel Abdel-Rahman, Pharmacology, School of Medicine Rebecca Benfield, Parent Child Nursing, School of Nursing David Bjorkman, Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences Hubert Burden, Anatomy and Cell Biology, School of Medicine Amy Carr-Richardson, Theory, Composition & Musicology, School of Music, College of Fine Arts & Communication

Robert G. Carroll, Physiology, School of Medicine Janice Daugherty, Family Medicine, School of Medicine Cheryl Estes, Recreation and Leisure Studies, College of Health and Human Performance Charles Ewen, Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences Carol Ferreira, Community Nursing Systems, School of Nursing Jean Golden, Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences Sharon Haley, Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education Judith Hunt, Management, College of Business Claudia Jolls, Biology, College of Arts and Sciences Jane Painter, Occupational Therapy, School of Allied Health Sciences Phillip Pekala, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, School of Medicine Tom Raedeke, Exercise and Sport Science, College of Health and Human Performance Phillip Rothman, Economics, College of Arts and Sciences Ihab Saad, Construction Management, School of Industry & Technology, College of Technology & Computer Science Roy Simerly, Management, College of Business

Presentation of the 2003 Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching Nominees are:

Charles Bath, Keyboard, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication David Dosser, Child Development and Family Relations, School of Human Ecology Charles Ewen, Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences Jean Golden, Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences Judith Hunt, Management, College of Business Hanna Jubran, Sculpture Concentration, School of Art, College of Fine Arts and Communication Iona Poston, Parent Child Nursing, School of Nursing Richard Ray, Physiology, School of Medicine Roy Simerly, Management, College of Business Michael Spurr, Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences Gay Wilentz, English, College of Arts and Sciences

III. Special Order of the Day

Remarks by the Recipient of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

IV. Closing Announcements and Adjournment

