

Faculty Senate

East Carolina University

140 Rawl Annex • Greenville, NC 27858-4353

252-328-6537 office • 252-328-6122 fax
facultysenate@mail.ecu.edu

http://www.ecu.edu/fsonline/

COPY

September 11, 2002

Chancellor William Muse East Carolina University Spilman Building

Dear Dr. Muse:

On September 3, 2002, the Faculty Senate adopted the following resolutions for your consideration. A copy of the minutes is attached.

- ✓ 02-25 Curriculum matters contained in the April 25, 2002, University Curriculum Committee minutes (attachment 2).
- O2-26 Membership on the Enrollment Management Council to include five faculty members to serve as additional members to the Enrollment Management Council. Three faculty members will serve as regular members with vote and will be elected each year by the Faculty Senate. Two faculty members will serve as ex-officio members with vote and will be the Chair of the Admissions and Retention Policies Committee, or designee and the Chair of the Faculty, or designee.
- O2-27 Resolution reaffirming the commitment of ECU to academic freedom that read as follows:

 BE IT RESOLVED that the Faculty of East Carolina University reaffirm the commitment of their university to academic freedom and the fair exchange of ideas as well as their commitment to the understanding of different cultures and values of all kinds with the confidence that thoughtful study and intellectual inquiry are fundamental to this University and the goals of the Faculty.

Thank you for your consideration of the above mentioned resolutions.

Sincerely,

Bob Morrison

Chair of the Faculty

Bol Mouson.

lal attachments

c: William Swart, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Michael Lewis, Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences
Tom Feldbush, Vice Chancellor for Research, Economic Development
and Community Engagement