FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS

Organizational Meeting April 30, 2002

- 1. We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly:
 - a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
 - b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to the Chair of the Faculty.
- 2. A revision has been made to the list of current members on the **Parking and Traffic Policy Committee**. Professor David Bjorkman (Chemistry) agreed to fill Professor John Cope's unexpired term.
- Representatives from UNC-Public Television interviewed Chancellor Muse, Chair Bob Morrison, Carroll Varner (Director of Academic Library Services) and Sadie Cox (Past SGA President) recently about the State budget situation and it's effects on the University. The interview will be aired on May 28, 2002.
- 4. The Annual Teaching Awards Ceremony is scheduled for tomorrow Wednesday, May 1, 2002, at 11:00 a.m. in the Jenkins Fine Arts Building, Speight Auditorium (School of Art). Chancellor Muse will host a reception in the Gray Gallery immediately following the ceremony. Please make plans now to attend.
- 5. 2003/2004 Research/Creative Activity Grant Applications and Teaching Grant Applications are now available in the Faculty Senate office (140 Rawl Annex) and on the Committees' web sites as noted below. These grants will be due in September 2002, with funding to begin Summer 2003.

Research Grants: http://www.ecu.edu/fsonline/AcademicCommittees/rg/researchgrants.htm
Teaching Grants: http://www.ecu.edu/fsonline/AcademicCommittees/tg/teachinggrants.htm

- 6. A preliminary **call for nominations** for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, Alumni Award for Outstanding Teaching, University Award for Outstanding Teaching, and Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing Education will be distributed soon to all academic unit heads. Copies of the different award nominating procedures are available in the Center for Faculty Development (124 Ragsdale) and Faculty Senate office (140 Rawl Annex). The nomination materials will be due in September 2002, with the award winners recognized in Spring 2003.
- 7. Faculty interested in periodically receiving back issues of "The Chronicle of Higher Education" are asked to call the Faculty Senate office (ext. 6537) and place their name on a list for distribution.
- 8. 2002-2003 Faculty Senate and Agenda Committee Meeting Dates are as follows:

August 27, 2002 September 17, 2002 October 22, 2002 November 19, 2002 January 14, 2003 February 11, 2003

Agenda Committee will meet:

March 11, 2003 April 8, 2003 Faculty Senate will meet:

September 3, 2002 October 1, 2002

November 5, 2002 December 3, 2002

January 28, 2003

February 25, 2003 March 25, 2003

April 22, 2003

April 29, 2003, Organizational Meeting

9. A special thanks is extended to the Faculty Senate alternates who are serving as tellers today:

Anthony Capehart (Biology)
Scott Lecce (Geography)

Michael Aceto (English)

Burton Ogle (Industry and Technology)