EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 2002 TEACHING AWARDS CEREMONY

Wednesday, May 1, 2002

Speight Auditorium (Jenkins Fine Arts Center) 11:00 a.m.

Opening Remarks

Bob Morrison, Chair of the Faculty

Presentation of Awards

Shelby Strother, President of the Alumni Association

Presentation of the 2002 Robert L. Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching Finalists are:

Dr. Cheryl Estes, School of Health and Human Performance

Dr. Edward Jacobs, School of Music

Mr. Hanna Jubran, School of Art

Mrs. Elizabeth Markowski, School of Human Environmental Sciences

Dr. Betty Peel, School of Education

Dr. Dan Schisler, School of Business

B. William Muse, Chancellor

Presentation of the 2002 University Awards for Outstanding Teaching Finalists are:

Dr. Cheryl Estes, School of Health and Human Performance

Dr. Edward Jacobs, School of Music

Mr. Hanna Jubran, School of Art

Mrs. Elizabeth Markowski, School of Human Environmental Sciences

Dr. Betty Peel, School of Education

Dr. Dan Schisler, School of Business

Presentation of the 2002 Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards Nominees are:

Dr. William Allen, Department of Chemistry

Dr. Donald Barnes, School of Medicine

Dr. Patrick Bizzaro, Department of English

Dr. Kerry Carlin, School of Music

Dr. Janice Daugherty, School of Medicine

Ms. Laurie Eakins, School of Business

Dr. Evelyn Farrior, School of Human Environmental Sciences

Dr. Linda Godbold, School of Computer Science and Communication

Dr. Jean Golden, Department of Psychology

Dr. Marsha Ironsmith, Department of Psychology

Dr. Kathy Kolasa, School of Medicine

Dr. Richard Ray, School of Medicine

Dr. Philip Rothman, Department of Economics

Dr. Dan Schisler, School of Business

Ms. Debra Tavasso, School of Health and Human Performance

Presentation of the 2002 Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching Nominees are:

Dr. Ken Bass, School of Business

Dr. David Dosser, School of Human Environmental Sciences

Dr. Margie Gallagher, School of Human Environmental Sciences

Dr. Jean Golden, Department of Psychology

Dr. Linda High, School of Music

Dr. Marsha Ironsmith, Department of Psychology

Mr. Hanna Jubran, School of Art

Dr. Betty Peel, School of Education

Dr. Dan Schisler, School of Business

Dr. Michael Spurr, Department of Mathematics

Special Order of the Day III.

Remarks by the Recipient of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

Closing Announcements and Adjournment

A reception hosted by the Chancellor will follow in the Gray Gallery.