FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS

Organizational Meeting 1 May 2001

- 1. We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly:
 - a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
 - b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to the Chair of the Faculty.
- 2. The Annual Teaching Awards Ceremony is scheduled for tomorrow, <u>Wednesday, May 2, 2001</u>, at 4:00 p.m. in the Francis Speight Auditorium (School of Art). Chancellor Eakin will host a coffee and dessert reception in the Gray Gallery immediately following the ceremony. Please make plans now to attend.
- 3. The new ECU Fact Books will be distributed to members of the Faculty Senate via campus mail in May. Please call the Faculty Senate office at ext. 6537 if you have any questions.
- 4. Faculty interested in periodically receiving past copies of "The Chronicle of Higher Education" are asked to call the Faculty Senate office (ext. 6537) and place their name on a list for distribution.
- 5. Applications for the 2002-2003 University Teaching Grants and Research/Creative Activity Grants are now available in the Faculty Senate office for interested faculty. The deadline for each grant is as follows:

Research/Creative Activity Grants 12:00 noon on Monday, 17 September 2001

Teaching Grants 12:00 noon on Monday, 1 October 2001

6. 2001-2002 Faculty Senate and Agenda Committee Meeting Dates are as follows:

Agenda Committee will meet
August 28, 2001
September 25, 2001
October 30, 2001
November 27, 2001
January 15, 2002
February 12, 2002
March 5, 2002

April 9, 2002

Faculty Senate will meet
September 4, 2001
October 9, 2001
November 13, 2001
December 4, 2001
January 29, 2002
February 26, 2002
March 19, 2002
April 23, 2002

April 30, 2002 (2002-2003 Organizational Meeting)

7. A special thanks is extended to the Faculty Senate alternates who are serving as tellers today:

Joe Ciechalski (Education) Rick Hebert (Business)

Dale Hutchinson (Anthropology) Rob McIntyre (Chemistry).

8. A call for nominations for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, for the Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award and for the Alumni Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award has been sent to all academic unit heads. Copies of the three different award nominating procedures may be obtained in the Center for Faculty Development (124 Ragsdale). The deadline for all award nominations is Monday, 17 September 2001.

Welcome to the following Faculty Senators whose terms begin today.

Linda Wolfe Anthropology

Ron Graziani Art

Gerhard Kalmus Biology

Paul Gemperline Chemistry

Harold Griffin Education

Bill Sugar Education

Gay Wilentz English

Jim Decker Health and Human Performance

Deedee Glascoff Health and Human Performance

Henry Ferrell History

Betsy Markowski Human Environmental Sciences

James Toppen Industry and Technology

Jeffrey Kovacs Medicine

Bob Hanrahan Medicine

Chris Ulffers Music

Tinsley Yarbrough Political Science

Bertus Ferreira Social Work & Criminal Justice Studies