



New Business Faculty Senate April 24, 2001 Meeting

Commendation for Jo Ann McGeehan Eakin

WHEREAS, Jo Ann McGeehan Eakin has served with dignity and grace as First Lady and official hostess of East Carolina University for fourteen years, from 1987-2001; and

WHEREAS, throughout her years of service, Mrs. Eakin has been a gracious hostess for East Carolina University, having hosted numerous functions for faculty, staff, students, alumni, and friends of the university; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Eakin has served with passion and commitment as a leader in a major campus beautification initiative that has transformed East Carolina University into an attractive and vibrant campus while preserving its historical charm and small college atmosphere; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Eakin has taken an active leadership role at East Carolina University, serving on the boards of the Friends of Joyner Library, the S. Rudolph Alexander Performing Arts Series, the Friends of the School of Music, and the ECU Art Enthusiasts; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Eakin has admirably served the citizens of eastern North Carolina through her service as a member of the PEO Service League and the Literacy Volunteers Association of Pitt County, and

WHEREAS, a strong advocate for students, Mrs. Eakin, with the Chancellor, has been a leader of the merit scholarship campaign, energetically hosting numerous campaign events;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Jo Ann McGeehan Eakin has served East Carolina University, eastern North Carolina and the State of North Carolina, well during her tenure as First Lady and official hostess of East Carolina University; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Faculty Senate, on behalf of the faculty of East Carolina University, extends sincere appreciation and best wishes to Jo Ann McGeehan Eakin, upon her retirement as First Lady; with gratitude for her fourteen years of admirable service, her commitment to students, faculty, staff, alumni, and friends of the university, and her commendable dignity, humor, kindness, and personal warmth.

Submitted to the Faculty Senate for approval from the Chairs of the Faculty during the Eakin Era (Robert C. Morrison [2000-2001], Brenda L. Killingsworth [1998-2000], Donald R. Sexauer [1995-1998], Patricia J. Anderson [1993-1995], John C. Moskop [1991-1993], James M. Joyce [1989-1991], and John C. Atkeson [1987-1989])