New Business Faculty Senate April 24, 2001 Meeting

Commendation for Richard R. Eakin

01-23

- WHEAS, Chancellor Richard R. Eakin has served with distinction and dignity as Chancellor of East Carolina University for fourteen years, from 1987-2001; and
- WHEREAS, Chancellor Eakin has provided strong vision, leadership, energy, and commitment in guiding East Carolina University to new heights of accomplishment; and
- WHEREAS, Chancellor Eakin has supported shared governance, actively serving as ex-officio member of the Faculty Senate, collaborating with faculty leaders in critical decision-making areas such as post tenure review and promotion and tenure procedures, and approving 99% of the 577 resolutions proposed by the Faculty Senate during his term as Chancellor; and
- WHEREAS, through his years of service, Chancellor Eakin has labored tirelessly to achieve excellence in academic programs, strategic planning, research resources and programs, fiscal management, technology-based learning resources and infrastructure, communication among constituencies, and collaboration with faculty, staff, and student leaders; and
- WHEREAS, under Chancellor Eakin's leadership, East Carolina University has experienced a 23% growth in on-campus enrollment from 14,459 students to 17,851 students, has improved the average quality of students at admission from a predicted grade point average of 2.25 to 2.66, and the 6-year graduation rates from 46.3% to 51.1%; and
- WHEREAS, Chancellor Eakin has worked diligently to support unprecedented growth in financial support for East Carolina University, with a 140% increase in total revenue, including a 271% growth in grants and contracts, and a 724% growth in the University and Foundation Endowment Funds; and
- WHEREAS, Chancellor Eakin has been a strong advocate and mentor for students as exhibited by his support of the Chancellor Leadership program and his inspired passion and strong leadership in a successful merit scholarship campaign that has raised over \$15 million; and
- WHEREAS, these efforts have resulted in East Carolina University's recognition as a doctoral institution, in its greatly expanded and nationally recognized academic curriculum, and in significant university contributions to culture, economic development, and quality of life in eastern North Carolina; and
- WHEREAS, as the longest-serving of The University of North Carolina's current chancellors, Chancellor Eakin has positively influenced system-wide goals and objectives and has served as a strong advocate for East Carolina University and for the region, obtaining approval for numerous academic programs critical to the region as well as admirably leading the region in passage of both the library bond referendum and the University of North Carolina System/Community College bond referendum; and
- WHEREAS, Chancellor Eakin has demonstrated great leadership and compassion during times of immense hardship in the East, including the Flood of the Century; and
- WHEREAS, under Chancellor Eakin's care and attention, East Carolina University's strategic direction as well as the "Spirit of the East" continue to move forward, positioning the university to meet the challenges facing the university and the region well into the 21st Century.
- THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Chancellor Richard R. Eakin has served East Carolina University, eastern North Carolina, and the State of North Carolina meritoriously during his tenure as Chancellor, awakening the "sleeping giant" of the East; setting high standards, and leaving an impressive legacy of progress and achievement; and
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Faculty Senate, on behalf of the faculty of East Carolina University, extends its deep appreciation and best wishes to Richard R. Eakin upon his retirement as Chancellor, with gratitude for his fourteen years of exemplary leadership; his unwavering commitment to students, faculty, and staff; and his commendable compassion, dignity, wisdom, fairness, and honor.

Submitted to the Faculty Senate for approval from the Chairs of the Faculty during the Eakin Era (Robert C. Morrison [2000-2001], Brenda L. Killingsworth [1998-2000], Donald R. Sexauer [1995-1998], Patricia J. Anderson [1993-1995], John C. Moskop [1991-1993], James M. Joyce [1989-1991], and John C. Atkeson [1987-1989])