PLEASE POST FOR ALL FACULTY TO READ!

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 2000-2001 FACULTY SENATE

The organizational meeting for the 2000-2001 Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, 2 May 2000, in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room.

Senators absent were: McCarthy (Business), Robinson (English), Barnes (Health and Human Performance), Nasea (Health Sciences Library), Lyandres (History), Davis (Industry and Technology), McMillen and Wooden (Medicine), Frisch (Political Science), Vice Chancellors Feldbush and Ringeisen, Chancellor Eakin, Administrative Council Representative Varner, and Faculty Assembly Delegate Rosenberg.

Alternates present were: Professors Bell for Albright (Allied Health Sciences), Schisler for Niswander (Business), Mulcahy for Gares (Geography), Lawrence for Rigsby (Geology), and Worthington for Fiodalisi (Medicine).

Announcements:

- Beginning Fall 2000, all Faculty Senate materials (agendas, minutes, announcements) will be distributed via the Faculty Listserv. Faculty choosing to opt out of the Faculty Listserv will continue to be able to access the materials via the Faculty Senate website. Actual paper copies of the various documents will only be available in the Faculty Senate office.
- Faculty interested in periodically receiving past copies of "The Chronicle of Higher Education" are asked to call the Faculty Senate office and place their name on a list for distribution.
- Applications for the 2001-2002 University Teaching Grants and Research/Creative Activity Grants are now available in the Faculty Senate office for interested faculty. The deadline for each grant is as follows:

Teaching Grants

12:00 noon on Monday, 2 October 2000

Research/Creative Activity Grants

12:00 noon on Friday, 15 September 2000

The next Board of Trustee meeting is scheduled for Friday, 12 May 2000, beginning at 9:00 a.m. in the Mendenhall Student Center. A copy of the meeting agenda will be available for review in the Faculty Senate office.

A special thanks was extended to the Faculty Senate alternates who served as tellers:

Margaret Foote, Academic Library Services Bertus Ferreira, Social Work and Criminal Justice JoAnn Jones, English and Undergraduate Studies

Following elections, the following faculty members were elected as the 2000-2001 Faculty Officers:

Bob Morrison (Chemistry), Chair of the Faculty

Jack Karns (Business), Vice Chair of the Faculty

Mark Jones (Social Work and Criminal Justice Studies), Secretary of the Faculty.

Patricia Anderson (Education) has graciously agreed to serve again next year as Parliamentarian.

5.

3.

The following faculty members were elected to serve new terms on the various Academic, Administrative, Appellate, Board of Trustee, Student Life, and Student Union Committees. These new terms are for 3 years unless otherwise noted.

ACADEMIC COMMITTEES

Admissions and Recruitment

Dawn Clark John Cope **Michael Duffy**

Theatre and Dance Psychology Art

Calendar

John Crammer **Robert Caprio** Charles Calhoun

Math Theatre and Dance History

Career Education Christopher Carolan Susan Goodwin

Math **Health Sciences Library**

Continuing Education Nellie Droes

Nursing

Faculty Information Technology

Tibor Hortobagyi Samuel Atkinson Jonathan Probber

Health and Human Performance Medicine Human Environmental Sciences

Faculty Welfare

Rick Barnes

Health and Human Performance

General Education

John Tilley **Glenn Swilling** Jim Decker

History Industry and Technology Health and Human Performance

Honors Program

Rosa Cuenca Jim Kirkland Marianna Walker

Medicine English **Allied Health Sciences**

Course Drop Appeals

Janice

Melissa Nasea Marcus Olson

Health Sciences Library Theatre and Dance Acad- Lib. Sucs. ciugs

Credits Dunn

Health and Human Performance

Educational Policies and Planning

George Bailey

Philosophy

Faculty Governance

Paul Hartley Linda Allred **Jim Joyce**

Art Psychology Physics

Libraries

Qun Lu

Tom Raedeke **Roger Biles**

Health and Human Performance History

Readmission Appeals

Jonathan Walker Joe Ciechalski **Carmen Russoniello**

Music Education Health & Human Perf (alternate)

Research/Creative Activity Grants

Randy Parker Economics Medicine **Jim Chandler** Human Environmental Sciences Bonnie Mani **Political Science** Tom McConnell Biology Randy Daniel Anthropology

Research/Creative Activity Policies

Mark L'Esperance Jan Teller an Eakins **Achael Schinasi**

Education Medicine **Business** Foreign

Student Advising and Retention

Don Davis Pamela Burton

Industry and Technology **Academic Library Services**

christine

Tim

Pinkney,

Educ.

Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid

Paul Spence Nancy Shires

Medicine **Academic Library Services**

Teaching Effectiveness

Richard Bamberg Kay Dennis Ellen Arnold Vivian Mott

Allied Health Sciences Nursing English Education (2001 Term)

STUDENT LIFE COMMITTEE

Academic Integrity

Bruce Albright -Ellen Arnold Hutchins Bryna Coonin Said Said John Tilley

Allied Health Sciences English **Academic Library Services** Math (alternate) History (alternate)

APPELLATE COMMITTEES

Due Process

Ralph Scott **Dan Schisler** Greg Lapicki Linda Mooney

Faculty Grievance

Academic Library Services Business Physics (Alternate) Sociology (Alternate)

Alice Arnold

Art (2001 Term)

Political Science

Education

Economics

Math

Teaching Grants

Randy Joyner Heather Ries Scott Frisch Ed Schumacher Lessie Bass

Unit Code Screening

Ralph Scott vid Glascoff **Kyle Summers**

Academic Library Services Business Biology

University Curriculum

Dale Knickerbocker David Batie Monica Hough Angela Thompson

Foreign Languages Industry and Technology **Allied Health Sciences** History (2001 Term)

Social Work /Criminal Just Stud

Writing Across the Curriculum

Patricia Clark Scott Williams **Theatre and Dance** Education

Donald Fletcher Richard Miller Joe Ciechalski

Grievance Board

Trenton Davis Nellie Droes **Bob Nida** Susan Smith Paul Gares **Michael Schinasi**

Hearing

Pat Dunn **Beth Winstead Stephen Willis**

Reconsideration

Monica Hough Samuel Atkinson

Allied Health Sciences Medicine (alternate) Mohammad Salehpour Medicine (alternate)

STUDENT UNION COMMITTEES

Medicine Philosophy Education

(alternate)

Allied Health Sciences Nursing Human Environmental Sciences Allied Health Sciences a1+) Geography Foreign Languages (alt)

Health and Human Performance Health Sciences Lib. (alternate) Medicine (alternate)

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES

Citation Appeals

Said Said Jane Painter Scott Williams **Michael Duffy**

Math Allied Health Sciences Education Art

Faculty and Staff Benefits Allied Health Sciences Monica Hough

Parking and Traffic Policy Psychology John Cope

search Ethics Review Nursing Nancy Stephenson

University Athletic

Paul Alston V

Allied Health Sciences

University Award Qun Lu

Medicine

Barefoot

Jonathan Walker Music Gil Leebrick Art

Cultural Awareness Vivian Mott Ellen Arnold

Education English

Films Nanyoung Kim **Robert Caprio** Ralph Scott

Art **Theatre and Dance** Academic Library Services

Marketing Susan McGhee **Donald Palumbo**

Health and Human Performance English

Popular Entertainment Dan Stanley Biology

Spectrum K. Gopalakrishnan Jan Teller

Math Medicine

BOARD OF TRUSTEE COMMITTEE

Honorary Degrees, Awards, and Distinctions Linda Allred Psychology Health and Human Performance Tom Raedeke

Visual Arts Alice Arnold Jonathan Probber

Art Human Environmental Sciences

The following faculty members were elected to serve on the Committee on Committees, with 2 year terms. Donald Neal, Geology Mark Taggart, Music Gene Tranbarger, Nursing

The following faculty members were elected to serve on the Agenda Committee, with 1 year terms. Susan Williams, Nursing John Cope, Psychology Ralph Scott, Academic Library Services Ginger Woodard, Human Environmental Sciences Britton Theurer, Music

Respectfully submitted,

Lori Lee, Faculty Senate Office