PLEASE POST FOR ALL FACULTY TO READ!

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY **1999-2000 FACULTY SENATE**

The organizational meeting for the 1999-2000 Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, 4 May 1999, in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room.

Senators absent were: Professors Joyner (Education), Friend (Industry and Technology), Fiordalisi and Mustafa (Medicine), Chancellor Eakin, Vice Chancellors Hallock, Ringeisen, and Feldbush, Past Chair of the Faculty Sexauer, Faculty Assembly Delegates Ferrell, Reaves, and Rosenberg.

Alternates present were: Professors Wang for Gares (Geography), Wubneh for Davis (Industry and Technology), Worthington for Metzger (Medicine), and Pokorny for Droes (Nursing).

Announcements:

-

1. Applications for the 2000-2001 University Teaching Grants and Research/Creative Activity Grants are now available in

the Faculty Senate office for interested faculty. The deadline for each grant is as follows: Teaching Grants - 12:00 noon on Friday, 1 October 1999

Research/Creative Activity Grants - 12:00 noon on Wednesday, 15 September 1999

- 2. Thanks was extended to Margaret Foote (Academic Library Services), Margit Schmidt (Biology), and JoAnn Jones (English/Undergraduate Studies) for serving as Tellers.
- 3. The next Board of Trustee meeting is scheduled for Friday, 14 May 1999, beginning at 9:00 a.m. in the Mendenhall Student Center. A copy of the meeting agenda will be available for review in the Faculty Senate office.

Following elections, the following faculty members were elected as the 1999-2000 Faculty Officers: Brenda Killingsworth (Business), Chair of the Faculty,

Bob Morrison (Chemistry), Vice Chair of the Faculty,

Mark Jones (Social Work and Criminal Justice Studies), Secretary of the Faculty.

Over the Summer, the Chair of the Faculty will select someone to serve as Parliamentarian for next year.

ne following faculty members were elected to serve new terms on the various Academic, Administrative, Appellate, Board of Trustee, Student Life, and Student Union Committees. These new terms are for 3 years unless otherwise noted.

ACADEMIC COMMITTEES

Admissions and Recruitment

Bill Cobb History Industry & Technology **Esau Waters**

General Education

Patricia Greenstein Michele Sharp

Health Sciences Library English

Honors Program

Marion Eppler **Christine Shea**

Psychology Education

Calendar **Roger Rulifson** Lane Kenworthy

Biology Sociology

Career Education Jim Chandler

Human Environmental Sciences

Cynthia Bickley-Green Art Linda Wolfe

Anthropology

Continuing Education

Christine Zoller John Bort

Art Anthropology

Course Drop Appeals

Avtar Singh **Robert Muzzarelli**

Sociology **Allied Health Sciences**

Credits Josie Bowman Lane Geddie

Nursing Psychology

Libraries

David Hursh Allan Rosenberg Karen Crowell

Academic Library Services Medicine **Health Sciences Library**

Readmission Appeals

Art Rodriguez	Chemistry
Gary Levine	Medicine
Janice Neil	Nursing
Robert Chin	Industry & Tech. (alt -2 year term)

Research/Creative Activity Grants

Sharon Nichols **Edson Justiniano** Scott Dellana Wes Hankins Anne Dickerson Martha Selby Marie Pokorny **Richard Miller Bob Edwards**

Education (2 year term) Physics Business Industry & Technology **Allied Health Sciences** Health & Human Perf. (2 yr. term) Nursing Philosophy Sociology

Educational Policies and Planning David Lawrence Geology

Faculty Information Technology

Semion Lyandres Walter Zoller Kevin Moll Wayne Godwin

History **Academic Library Services** Music (2 year term) Art

Eaculty Governance

Isley Yarbrough Mary Glascoff

Political Science Health & Human Performance

Faculty Welfare

Beth Winstead Michael Felts Alexandra Shlapentokh Math

Health Sciences Library Health & Human Performance (2 year term)

Research/Creative Activity Policies

Plamen Stefanov Math Charles Boklage Medicine Larry Means

Psychology (1 year term)

Student Advising and Retention

Scott Worley Allied Health Sciences Frederic Fladenmuller Foreign Languages

Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid

Economics
Health & Human Performance
Nursing

Teaching Effectiveness

Kim Meyer Marilyn Lewis Louis Eckstein

Psychology **Academic Library Services** Business

Teaching Grants

Hanna Jubran **Rick Niswander** Harrell Allen

Art Business Communication

it Code Screening Gene Hughes Sherry Southard **David White**

Business English Health & Human Perf. (1 yr. term)

University Curriculum

Steven Estes **Tom Huener Elizabeth Smith Todd Finley** Iona Poston

Health & Human Performance Music **Academic Library Services** English Nursing (2 year term)

Writing Across the Curriculum

Myra Brown Laura McArthur Dennis Cali

Allied Health Sciences Human Environmental Sciences Education

Faculty Grievance

Walter Zoller **Janice Neil** Cathy Hall **Ron Graziani**

Grievance Board

Rick Taylor Alta Andrews Bill Cobb **Michael Ehlbeck** Linda Mooney Jeanette Dolezal

Hearing

Robert Muzzarelli Art Rodriguez **Belinda Lee**

Academic Library Services Nursing Psychology (alternate) Art

English Nursing History Art Sociology Medicine

(alternate) (alternate) (alternate)

Allied Health Sciences Chemistry Nursing (alternate) Health & Human Perf. (alternate)

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES

Citation Appeals

Robert Muzzarelli Harrell Allen Hammed Olanrewaju Ralph Scott

Allied Health Sciences Communication Medicine **Academic Library Services**

Faculty and Staff Benefits

open

arking and Traffic Policy Sociology **Bob Edwards**

Research Ethics Review Brian McMillen

Medicine

University Athletic Wayne Godwin Karen Crowell

Art **Health Sciences Library**

Boni Boswell

Reconsideration

Paul Gemperline Marie Farr Mark Friend Allan Rosenberg Michael McLeod Chris Ulffers

Chemistry English Industry & Tech. (2 year term) Medicine (alternate) **Business** (alternate) Music (alternate - 2 year term)

STUDENT UNION COMMITTEES

Barefoot

Kelly Fudge Marilyn Lewis Communication (1 year term) Academic Library Services

Cultural Awareness Bob Edwards Jamal Mustafa

Films **Robert Siegel** Frederic Fladenmuller Sociology Medicine

English

Psychology

Education

Art

English Foreign Languages

University Award Maurice Simon

Political Science

BOARD OF TRUSTEE COMMITTEE

Honorary Degrees, Awards, and Distinctions

Charles Boklage Dennis Cali Maurice Simon

Medicine Education **Political Science**

STUDENT LIFE COMMITTEE

Academic Integrity Britton Theurer Music Human Environ. Sc. (alternate) Laura McArthur



APPELLATE COMMITTEES

Due Process Psychology Linda Allred Alexandra Shlapentokh Math Angela Thompson

History (alternate)

David Jacobs

Lecture **Kim Meyer Christine Shea**

Marketing Mark Taggart Pat McGee

Music Academic Library Services

Media Wayne Godwin

Popular Entertainment

Semion Lyandres History

Special Events Stacy open Hammed Olanrewaju

Rideaut - HSL Medicine

Visual Arts Gil Leebrick Elizabeth Smith

Art Academic Library Services

The following faculty members were elected to serve on the Committee on Committees, with 2 year terms. Ralph Scott, Academic Library Services Henry Ferrell, History **Richard Miller, Philosophy**

The following faculty members were elected to serve on the Agenda Committee, with 1 year terms. Susan Williams, Nursing Linda Allred, Psychology Jim Joyce, Physics Ginger Woodard, Human Environmental Sciences **Britton Theurer, Music**

The vacancies left on the Faculty and Staff Benefits and Special Events Committees will be filled by the Chair of the Faculty. yone interested in serving on these committees is asked to call the Faculty Senate office at ext. 6537 as soon as possible

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lori Lee **Faculty Senate Office**