FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS 21 APRIL 1998

- We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes
 correctly: a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
 - b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to Donald Neal, Secretary of the Faculty.
- 2. The Board of Governors have officially designated East Carolina University as a Doctoral II University!! The resolution had two parts, first that ECU would be designated a Doctoral II University, effective May 1. And secondly, that the VP for Academic Affairs and the VP for Finance from GA (Roy Carroll and Bill McCoy, respectively would work with their counterparts at ECU Richard Ringeisen and Richard Brown) to develop and plan a timetable for "adjusting the funding for ECU to a level appropriate for Doctoral II University status." Further, this plan is to be completed by August 1 and reflected in the Board's biennial budget request for 1999-2001. The Board of Governors also approved two Ph.D. programs, Coastal Resource Management and Biomedical Physics for immediate establishment.
- Chancellor Eakin has approved the following resolutions from the 24 March 1998, and 7 April 1998, Faculty Senate meeting:

#98-9 Spring 1998 Graduate roster.

#98-10 University Academic Computer Use Policy.

(Attached is a copy of the policy, as revised and approved by the Chancellor.)

#98-11 School of Social Work and Criminal Justice Studies name change.

#98-12 Curriculum matters of Curriculum Committee meeting dated 26 February 1998.

#98-13 Policy for the Cumulative Review of Permanently Tenured Faculty.

- Chancellor also noted that Resolution #98-14, recommending that the Board of Governors initiate a review process to take place at least every five years, has been received.
- Plans are now being made for the second annual Teaching Awards Ceremony to honor upcoming recipients of the three teaching awards: Alumni Teaching Excellence, Board of Governors Award for Excellence, and Board of Governors Distinguished Professor. The ceremony will begin at 9:00 a.m. in the Hendrix Theatre on Thursday, 7 May 1998 (Reading Day). A reception, hosted by Chancellor Eakin, will follow in the Mendenhall Multi-Purpose room. Please make plans now to attend.
- 5. The track titles of the Spanish degrees (API#1105) have been changed to Hispanic Studies and approved by the UNC General Administration on April 14, 1998.
- 6. Thanks is extended to Chancellor Eakin today for his continued support of refreshments at each of the Faculty Senate meetings this year.
- Speaking privileges have been extended to Henry Peel, Dot Muller, JoAnn Jones, David Watkins, and Caroline Ayers.
- 8. Both 1999-2000 Research/Creative Activity and Teaching grant applications are now available in the Faculty Senate office, 140 Rawl Annex. Deadlines for each are as follows:

Research/Creative Activity grants are due:

Tuesday, 15 September 1998

Teaching grants are due:

Friday, 1 October 1998