EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

EXECUTIVE MINUTES OF 29 APRIL 1997

The organizational meeting for the 1997-98 Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, 29 April 1997, in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room.

Senators absent were: Professors Hebert (Business), White (Education), Dixon (Geography), Shea (Human Environmental Sciences), Fiordalisi and Metzger (Medicine), Simon (Political Science), and Ray (Theatre and Dance), Anderson (Past Chair), Reaves and Rosenberg (Faculty Assembly Representatives), Chancellor Eakin, Vice Chancellors Hallock, Feldbush, and Ringeisen, and Davis (Administrative Council).

Alternates present were: Professors Said for Spickerman (Math) and Johnson for Wilson (Sociology).

Announcements:

The next Board of Trustees meeting is scheduled for Friday, 9 May 1997, at 9:00 a.m. in the Mendenhall Student 1.

- Center, Great Room. This meeting is open to all interested people.
- Faculty Senators and Alternates interested in serving as the Chair of the Faculty's representative on an academic, 2. administrative, Board of Trustee, or Student Life Committee next year is asked to complete the form distributed last week or call the Faculty Senate office at ext. 6537.
- 3. A special thanks was extended to the following Faculty alternates who agreed to serve as tellers: Michael Cotter (Academic Library Services), David Dosser (Human Environmental Sciences), Marsha Ironsmith, (Psychology), and Vivian Mott (Education).
- Information has been distributed to each Faculty Senator and Alternate requesting volunteers to serve as the Chair 4. of the Faculty's representative next year on the various Academic, Administrative, Board of Trustee, and Student Life Committees. If interested, please complete the form distributed to you with the request and return it to the Faculty Senate office.



A special welcome was extended to the new Faculty Senators and Alternates who have agreed to work with the Faculty Senate to accomplish many things in the upcoming 1997-98 academic year.

The following faculty members were elected as the 1997-98 Faculty Officers:

Don Sexauer (Art), Chair of the Faculty Brenda Killingsworth (Business), Vice Chair of the Faculty Donald Neal (Geology), Secretary of the Faculty

Artemis Kares (Academic Library Services) has been asked to again serve as Parliamentarian next year.

The following faculty members were elected to serve new terms on the various Academic, Administrative, Appellate, Board of Trustee, Student Life, and Student Union Committees.

ACADEMIC COMMITTEES

(3 year terms unless otherwise noted)

Admissions and Recruitment

Michael Cotter Academic Lib. Svcs. Margot Stock Nursing OPEN

(Anyone interested in filling this vacancy is asked to call the Faculty Senate office at ext. 6537.)

Calendar

Karen Elberson David Glascoff

Nursing Business

Education Melissa Nasea Mark Friend

Health Sc. Library Industry & Tech

Continuing Education Karen Krupa

Nursing

Faculty Governance Patricia Anderson Artemis Kares Jim Joyce

Faculty Welfare Judy Donnalley Uma Gupta

Education (1 yr. term) Business

Academic Library Svcs.

Education

Physics

Music

HESC

Education

General Education Elliot Frank **Evelyn Farrior** Parm Hawk

Honors Program Nancy Shires Keith Goins

Academic Lib. Svcs. Industry & Tech

Course Drop Appeals	
Martha Lapas	Acaden
Kenneth Bass	Busines
Credits	
Michael Duffy	Art
Trenton Davis	Allied H

mic Lib. Svcs. SS

Health Sc. (1 yr. term)

ational Policies and Planning GL Je Bailey Philosophy

Faculty Computer Nellie Droes Elmer Poe **Janet Prichard**

Nursing Industry & Tech Math

Samantha Gust

Health Sc. Lib.

Libraries

Yolanda Burwell **Tony Whetstone**

Social Work Psychology

Readmission Appeals Thomas Durham Garrett Hume Ernie Schwarz

Psychology Allied Health Sc Health & Human Perf.

Research/Creative Activity Grants Catherine Rigsby Geology Rose Postel HESC David Dennard History Randall Parker Economics Alan Arnett Bonnie Mani

Theatre & Dance Political Sc.

Faculty Senate Minutes of 29 April 1997 Page 2



Research/Creative Activity Policies

Michael Pfeifer Joseph Kalinowski Bodo Nischan Medicine Allied Health Sc. History

Student Advising and RetentionMargaret FooteAcademic Lib. Svcs.Thomas ReillyHESC

Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial AidKathy BrownHealth & Human Perf.Linda AllredPsychology

Teaching Grants

Louise Toppin Frances Daugherty Marie Farr Heather Ries Harold Griffin

Music Art English Math Education

Unit Code Screening Bill Grossnickle Jamal Mustafa Ralph Scott

Psychology Medicine Academic Lib. Svcs.

University Curriculum Greg Lapicki

Physics

<u>Teaching Effectiveness</u> Jon Pedersen John Crammer Charles Garrison

Education Math Sociology John Whitehead Dale Knickerbocker Economics Foreign Language

Writing Across the CurriculumChris UlffersMusicFrank FarmerEnglish

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES

(3 year terms unless otherwise noted)

Citation Appeals Frank Randy Joyner

Music Education

Faculty and Staff BenefitsEdwin DotyBusiness 1999William McPhersonIndustry & Tech. 2000

Parking and Traffic Policy Joseph Ciechalski Education Research Ethics Review Marie Pokorny Nursing

University Athletic Fred Schadler

University Award Alta Andrews

Nursing

Business

APPELLATE COMMITTEES

(3 year terms unless otherwise noted)

Due Process Ralph Scott Saeed Dar OPEN OPEN

Academic Lib. Svcs. Medicine (alternate)

(Anyone interested in filling these vacancies is asked to call the Faculty Senate office at ext. 6537.)

Folty Grievance Id Fletcher Larry Hough Robert Morrison

Medicine Political Science Chemistry

Grievance Board

Garrett Hume William McPherson Artemis Kares Jamal Mustafa Dawn Clark Richard Mauger

Hearing

Patricia Anderson Brian Harris Linda Mooney

Reconsideration Donald Neal Tom Eamon Charles Snow Allied Health Sc Industry & Tech Academic Lib. Svcs. Medicine (alternate) Theatre and Dance (alternate) Geology (alternate)

Education Foreign Language (alternate) Sociology (alternate)

Geology Political Science (alternate) HESC (alternate)

BOARD OF TRUSTEE COMMITTEE

(3 year terms)

Honorary Degrees, Awards, and Distinctions Bill Grossnickle Psychology

Honorary Degrees, Awards, and Distinctions (continued)

Peter McCracken

Academic Library. Svcs.

STUDENT LIFE COMMITTEE

(3 year terms)

Academic Integrity Thomas Durham Karen Elberson

Psychology Nursing Academic Integrity (continued)

Garrett Hume	AHS	(alternate)
Hanna Jubran	Art	(alternate)

Faculty Senate Minutes of 29 April 1997 Page 3



STUDENT UNION COMMITTEES

(1 year terms)

Bob Woodside Brian Harris

Math Foreign Language

Cultural Awareness Ralph Scott Ron Graziani

Academic Lib. Svcs. Art Marketing Randall Parker Mark Taggart

Economics Music

Media Gary Greenstein

Health Sc. Lib

Popular Entertainment Margaret Foote Academic Lib. Svcs.

Films

Gary GreensteinHeaMichael PfeiferMedTony WhetstonePsy

Lecture A. Farhadi Hanna Jubran Health Sciences Lib. Medicine Psychology

Art Art <u>Special Events</u> Linda Carr Frances Daugherty

Cooperative Educ Art

Visual Arts C. Bickley-Green Art Margot Stock Nu

Art Nursing

ELECTION OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES MEMBERS (2 year terms)

New Members:

Bob WoodsideMathBrian HarrisForeiAlta AndrewsNurs

Math Foreign Language Nursing

ELECTION OF AGENDA COMMITTEE MEMBERS (1 year term)

New Members: Linda Allred Lou Everett Jim Joyce Mark Jones Prem Sehgal

Psychology Nursing Physics Social Work Biology

It was moved and passed that the vacancies left on the Admissions and Recruitment Committee and Due Process Appellate Committee would be filled by the Chair of the Faculty. Anyone interested in filling these vacancies is asked to call the Faculty Senate office at ext. 6537.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lee F. Ity Senate office Administrative Assistant