## **FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS**

## 29 April 1997

- We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes
   correctly: a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
  - b. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.

    b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator.
    - When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to Donald Neal, Secretary of the Faculty.
- 2. The next **Board of Trustees meeting** is scheduled for <u>Friday</u>, 9 May 1997, at 9:00 a.m. in the Mendenhall Student Center, Great Room. This meeting is open to all interested people.
- Faculty Senators and Alternates interested in serving as the Chair of the Faculty's
  representative on an academic, administrative, Board of Trustee, or Student Life Committee next
  year is asked to complete the form distributed last week or call the Faculty Senate office at ext.
  6537.
- 4. A special thanks is extended to the following Faculty alternates who agreed to serve today as a **Teller**: Michael Cotter, Academic Library Services
  - David Dosser, School of Human Environmental Sciences
  - Marsha Ironsmith, Department of Psychology
  - Vivian Mott, School of Education
- Information has been distributed to each Faculty Senator and Alternate requesting volunteers to serve as the Chair of the Faculty's representative next year on the various Academic, Administrative, Board of Trustee, and Student Life Committees. If interested, please complete the form distributed to you with the request and return it to the Faculty Senate office no later than Friday, 2 May 1997.
- A special welcome was extended to the new Faculty Senators and Alternates who have agreed to work with the Faculty Senate to accomplish many things in the upcoming 1997-98 academic year.
- 7. Tomorrow is the first annual **Teaching Awards Ceremony** to honor upcoming recipients of the three teaching awards, i.e. Alumni Teaching Excellence, Board of Governors Award for Excellence, and Board of Governors Distinguished Professor. This ceremony will replace the recognition shown each year for award winners at the Fall Faculty Convocation. The ceremony will be begin at 9:00 a.m. in the Hendrix Theatre on <a href="Wednesday, 30 April 1997">Wednesday, 30 April 1997</a> (Reading Day). A reception, hosted by Chancellor Eakin, will follow in the Mendenhall Multi-Purpose room. Please make plans now to attend.