THE <u>FULL</u> FACULTY SENATE AGENDA WITH ATTACHMENTS IS DISTRIBUTED TO FACULTY SENATORS, ALTERNATES, ACADEMIC COMMITTEE CHAIRS, AND AVAILABLE ELECTRONICALLY VIA THE ECU HOME PAGE TO THE FACULTY SENATE WEB PAGE.

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY 1996-1997 FACULTY SENATE

The seventh regular meeting of the 1996/1997 Faculty Senate will be held on Tuesday, 18 March 1997, at 2:10 in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room.

EXECUTIVE AGENDA

1.	Call	to	OI	rde	r

II. Approval of Minutes 18 February 1997

III. Special Order of the Day

- A. Roll Call
- B. Announcements
- C. Richard Eakin, Chancellor
- D. Vice Chancellor's Report
- E. Approval of Spring Graduation Roster
- F. Dawn Clark, Faculty Assembly Delegate
 UNC Faculty Assembly Meeting of 21 February 1997

V. Unfinished Business

V. Report of Committees

- A. Committee on Committees, Bob Woodside
 Second reading of proposed revisions to the following Committee charges
 (attachment 1):
 - 1. Admissions and Recruitment Committee
 - 2. Calendar Committee
 - 3. General Education Committee
 - 4. University Curriculum Committee
- B. Calendar Committee, Nancy Moss
 - Revisions to the following University Calendars:
 Fall 1997, Spring 1998, Summer 1998, Fall 1998, Spring 1999 (attachment 2).
 - Proposed New University Calendars:
 Summer 1999, Fall 1999, Spring 2000 (attachment 3).
- C. Credits Committee, Bob Woodside
 Proposed revision to the *University Undergraduate Catalog*,
 Section 5. Academic Regulations (attachment 4).
- D. Educational Policies and Planning, David Lawrence (For information only, no action required by the Faculty Senate)
 - 1. Request for Authorization to Plan a PhD Program in Technology Studies
 - 2. Request for Authorization to Establish a BS Degree in Construction Management (Copies of both requests are available for review in the Faculty Senate office.)
- E. Faculty Governance Committee, Jeff Jarvis Second reading of proposed revisions to the ECU Faculty Manual, Appendix A (attachment 5).
- F. Teaching Effectiveness Committee, Janna Brendell
 - Recommendations concerning the Student Opinion of Instruction Survey (attachment 6).
 - 2. Proposed revisions to the Alumni Teaching Awards procedures (attachment 7).
- G. Unit Code Screening Committee, Bill Grossnickle Revisions to the following Unit Code of Operations:
 - 1. Department of Sociology
 - 2. Department of Geology
 - 3. Department of Communication
 - (Copies are available for review in the Faculty Senate office.)
- H. University Curriculum Committee, Jim Smith Curriculum matters contained in the minutes of the 13 February 1997, and 27 February 1997, Committee Meeting. (Copies of these minutes have been distributed to all units and are available on the Faculty Senate web page.)

FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS

18 March 1997

- We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly:
 - To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
 - To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to Donald Neal, Secretary of the Faculty.
- The Chancellor has approved the following resolutions from the 18 February 1997, Faculty 2. Senate meeting:
 - 97-5 Creation of a ECU Summer Scholars Institute.
 - Revised Unit Codes of Operation for the School of Medicine and Department of Anthropology.
 - Curriculum matters contained in the minutes of 23 January 1997.
- Chairs of the 31 Standing Faculty Senate Committees are reminded that Committee Annual 3. Reports are due in the Faculty Senate office no later than Wednesday, 30 April 1997.
- Speaking privileges have been offered today to Bob Thompson (Planning and Institutional 4. Research) and Charles Boklage (Member of the Teaching Effectiveness Committee).
- The Chancellor's reception in his home honoring the 1996-97 Faculty Senators is scheduled for 5. Thursday, 24 April 1997, from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. Please make plans now to attend.
- Plans are now being made for the first annual Teaching Awards Ceremony to honor upcoming 6. recipients of the three teaching awards, i.e. Alumni Teaching Excellence, Board of Governors Award for Excellence, and Board of Governors Distinguished Professor. This ceremony will replace the recognition shown each year for award winners at the Fall Faculty Convocation. The ceremony will be begin at 9:00 a.m. in the Hendrix Theatre on Wednesday, 30 April 1997 (Reading Day). A reception, hosted by Chancellor Eakin, will follow in the Mendenhall Multi-Purpose room. Please make plans now to attend.