FACULTY SENATE ANNOUNCEMENTS

5 November 1996

- 1. We would like to ask that all Senators do the following to aid in reporting the minutes correctly:
 - a. To aid in identification, please stand when recognized to speak on issues.
 - b. To aid in clarification of motions, forms have been provided near each Senator. When making a motion or amendment, please fill out the form and forward it to Donald Neal, Secretary of the Faculty.
- 2. The Chancellor has approved the following resolutions:
 - #96-29 Revised 1997-1998 University Calendars.
 - The University should provide scholarships and grants to sophomore-level and above students who have proven themselves academically at East Carolina University. The Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid Committee should be kept abreast annually of the awarding of these new scholarships and grants through a report from the Financial Aid office. (Approval was given with the following response. Scholarships for continuing students are not a high priority for donors and, therefore, may not be readily attainable. Moreover, is it in the University's long-term best interest to use scholarship monies to attract new, high-quality students to the University.)
 - #96-33 Revised Selection Procedures for Robert and Lina Mays and Robert L. Jones Alumni Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards.
 - #96-34 Revised School of Allied Health Science's Unit Code of Operations.
- Speaking privileges have been granted to Tom Powell, Director of Admissions, to aid the Faculty Senate during discussion of today's agenda.
- 4. A welcome is extended to **Professor Harold Griffin** from the School of Education. He recently was elected to fill the vacancy left by Professor Scott Thomson.
- 5. The Faculty Computer Committee has completed their deliberations on the awarding of up to 117 faculty computer workstations. In order to increase the number of awardees, extra funds were made available from Chancellor Eakin and Vice Chancellors Brown and Ringeisen and printers will be purchased for only the first-time awardees. Award letters will be distributed by Friday, 8 November 1996. A list of winners will be distributed at the December 1996, Faculty Senate meeting.