THE <u>FULL</u> FACULTY SENATE MINUTES ARE DISTRIBUTED TO FACULTY SENATORS, ALTERNATES, ACADEMIC COMMITTEE CHAIRS, AND AVAILABLE ELECTRONICALLY ON FSONLINE.

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

EXECUTIVE MINUTES OF 20 FEBRUARY 1996

The sixth regular meeting of the 1995-96 Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, 20 February 1996, in the Mendenhall Student Center Great Room.

The minutes of 23 January 1996, were approved as written.

Senators absent were: Sexauer (Art), Chancellor Eakin, Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Hallock, Faculty Assembly Representatives Givens (Allied Health Sciences) and Jarvis (Music), Wolfe (Anthropology), Stellwag (Biology), Brent (Education), Farr (English), Nida (Human Environmental Sciences), and Fletcher and Kataria (Medicine).

<u>Alternates present were:</u> Johnson for Glascoff (Health and Human Performance) and Dolezal for Jendrasiak and Kovacs for Gilliland (Medicine).

Announcements:

- 1. The Chancellor has approved the following resolutions from the 23 January 1996, meeting:
 - 96-1 Revision to ECU Faculty Manual, Part V. Grade Appeals.
 - 96-2 Requests for authorization to plan new degree programs.
 - 96-3 Statement concerning cultural diversity.
 - 96-4 Revision to ECU Faculty Manual, Appendix C.
 - 96-5 Revision to ECU Faculty Manual, Appendix L.
 - 96-7 Department of Sociology Unit Code of Operations.
 - 96-8 Undergraduate curriculum matters contained in the meeting minutes of 12-7-95.
- The Teaching Effectiveness Committee is working on holding a Multimedia Workshop for all faculty on Friday, 29 March 1996. More information will be forthcoming once the final plans are made.
- 3. The editorial revisions to Appendix D of the ECU Faculty Manual, were approved by the Board of Governors on 9 February 1996. All faculty members have been sent a copy of this revised document. Please do not hesitate to call the Faculty Senate office if you have any questions.
- 4. The ECU Board of Trustees will meet on Friday, 22 March 1996, at 9:00 a.m. in the Mendenhall Great Room. All

faculty are welcome to attend the open meeting.

- All undergraduate curriculum matters needing to be placed in the 1996 Undergraduate Catalog must be forwarded to the University Undergraduate Curriculum Committee no later than <u>Monday, 18 March 1996</u>.
- Please remember to place on your calendars an upcoming reception to honor the Faculty Senate at the home of Dr. and Mrs. Eakin. The reception will be held on <u>Friday, 15 March 1996</u>, from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. A formal invitation will be forthcoming.
- Appreciation was extended to the following Faculty Senate Alternates who served as tellers during the meeting: Michael Ehlbeck (Art) and Jim Rees (Education).
- Correspondences concerning unit elections for 1996-97 Faculty Senate representation have been mailed to unit code administrators. In accordance with the ECU Faculty Manual, Appendix A, elections are to be held during the month of February. Please call the Faculty Senate office if you have any questions.
- C. Richard Eakin, Chancellor

Dr. Eakin was unable to attend the Faculty Senate meeting due to a rescheduled meeting with the consultants performing the funding equity study.

Tinsley Yarbrough, Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Interim Vice Chancellor Yarbrough began by announcing that the Office of Undergraduate Studies is undergoing an evaluation by off-campus consultants. Information relative to the distribution of reallocation monies made available for the Weekend University will be made available in the near future.

E. James Hallock, Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences

Vice Chancellor Hallock was unable to attend the Faculty Senate meeting due to a rescheduled meeting with the consultants performing the funding equity study.

F. Richard Brown, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs and David Watkins, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Vice Chancellor Brown and Dr. Watkins planned to present information to the group about the Information Resources Coordinating Council (IRCC). Vice Chancellor Brown, however, was unable to attend the Faculty Senate meeting due to a rescheduled meeting with the consultants performing the funding equity study. Dr. Watkins requested the postponement of their report until the March meeting of the Faculty Senate. There were no objections to this request.

G. Dawn Clark, Faculty Assembly Delegate

Professor Clark (Theatre Arts) gave a brief report on the UNC Faculty Assembly meeting of 16 February 1996. A copy of the report is available for review in the Faculty Senate office.

H. Election of Nominating Committee for Faculty Officers

Vice Chair Killingsworth called for nominations from the floor for membership to the Nominating Committee for Faculty Officers. She noted that, as stated in Appendix A of the *ECU Faculty Manual*, members to this committee must come the ranks of elected members of the Faculty Senate by a majority of those present and voting. The following Faculty Senators were nominated and accepted by acclamation to serve on the Nominating Committee for Faculty Officers:

Bill Grossnickle, Department of Psychology (Chair) Rita Reaves, School of Industry and Technology Marie Farr, Department of English Ken Wilson, Department of Sociology Mark Taggart, School of Music

The request for authorization to establish a new Doctor of Philosophy degree program in Biological and Physical Sciences (Biomedical Physics) was approved as presented. **Resolution #96-9** (A copy of each degree program may be reviewed in the Faculty Senate office, 140 Rawl Annex.)

The undergraduate curriculum matters contained in the meeting minutes of 11 January and 25 January 1996, were approved as distributed. Resolution #96-10 (Copies of the approved minutes are available in the Faculty Senate office.)

Vice Chair Killingsworth noted that immediately following the Faculty Senate meeting, Professor Jim Joyce (Physics) would offer a brief presentation entitled *We Need A Bold New View*! Interested Senators were invited to attend.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Donald Neal Department of Geology Secretary of the Faculty

Lori Lee Faculty Senate office Administrative Assistant

RESOLUTIONS PASSED AT THE 20 FEBRUARY 1996, FACULTY SENATE MEETING.

#96-9 Request for authorization to establish a new Doctor of Philosophy degree program in Biological and Physical Sciences (Biomedical Physics). <u>Disposition</u>: Chancellor

#96-10 Undergraduate curriculum matters contained in the meeting minutes of 11 January and 25 January 1996. (Copies are available in the Faculty Senate office, 140 Rawl Annex.) <u>Disposition</u>: Chancellor

