FULL FACULTY SENATE MINUTES WILL BE AVAILABLE FROM YOUR SENATOR(S), IN THE FACULTY SENATE OFFICE, IN YOUR CODE UNIT OFFICE, AND ON "FSONLINE".

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING APRIL 17, 1991

The Faculty Senate held its 1991/1992 Organizational Meeting on Wednesday, April 17, 1991, in Mendenhall Great Room.

Special Order of the Day

Absent were: VCHS Hallock, VCSL Matthews, VCAA Springer, Chancellor Eakin, Terrell and Hough (Faculty Assembly Representatives), Woods (Geology), Holte (English), Ayers (Chemistry), Givens (Allied Health), Pories, Pennington, Kallman, and Cunningham (Medicine), Graham (Psychology)

Alternates present were: Killingsworth for Capen (Business), Lapas for Lennon (Academic Library Services), Gallagher for Snow (Home Economics)

Special thanks to the following Alternates serving as Tellers today: Henry Ferrell (History), Jo Ann Jones (English), Greg Lapicki (Physics), John Satterfield (Art), and Carol Thompson (Sociology & Anth.)

Report of Committees

The following were elected 1991-1992 Officers of the Faculty. They will take office on August 1, 1991.

> John Moskop (Medicine) Chair of the Faculty Patricia Anderson (Education) Vice Chair of the Faculty Frances Eason (Nursing) Secretary of the Faculty.

> > ACADEMIC COMMITTEES

All Committee elections are for three-year terms expiring in 1994 unless otherwise indicated. The following faculty were elected to serve 1991-1994 terms:

Admission and Recruitment: Michael Carrafiello, History Dawn Clark, Theatre Arts Chuck Bland, Biology

Calendar Committee: Gray Ligon, Business John Crammer, Math

Career Education Committee: James Pinkney, Counseling Center Clifford Knight, Biology

Continuing Education Committee: Paul Petersen, Business

Course Drop Appeals Committee: Frances Daugherty, Art Richard McCarty, Philosophy

Credits Committee: Bob Woodside, Math To Fill Unexpired 1993 Term: Linner Griffin, Social Work

Curriculum Committee: Martha Lapas, Academic Library Svcs. Ken Wilson, Sociology & Anth. Donald Neal, Geology Carol Cox, Nursing

Educational Policies & Planning:

Faculty Affairs Committee: Greg Lapicki, Physics James Bruner, Social Work Diane Filipowicz, Art To fill Expired Alternate Term: Patricia Anderson, Education

Faculty Computer Committee: Bob Fainter, Math Jeff Jarvis, Music

FACULTY SENATE EXECUTIVE MINUTES OF APRIL 17, 1991

Page 2 of 2.

Faculty Governance Committee:
George Bailey, Philosophy
Tinsley Yarbrough, Political Science
Holly Matthews, Sociology & Anth.

Faculty Welfare Committee: Larry Hough, Political Science Nancy Oliver, Home Economics

General College Committee:
Susan Smith, Allied Health
Melissa Nasea, Health Sciences Lib.
Gerhard Kalmus, Biology

Libraries Committee:
Carmine Scavo, Political Science
James Blake, HPERS
Carlton Heckrotte, Biology

Readmission Appeals Committee:
Ralph Scott, Academic Library Services
Jannis Shea, Home Economics

Research/Creative Activity:
Bill Church, Chemistry
Mostafiz Chowdhury, Ind. & Tech.
Richard Taylor, English
Marty Meloche, Business

Student Retention Committee: Charles Moore, Psychology Michael Spurr, Math

Teaching Effectiveness Committee: Richard Shine, Allied Health Dennis Nullet, Geography Reginald York, Social Work

Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid Committee: Nancy Shires, Academic Library Services Ted Ellis, English

Teaching Grants Committee:

John Bort, Sociology & Anthropology
Rose Postel, Home Economics
Richard Hunt, Medicine
Bertie Fearing, English
Connie Mellon, Library & Information Studies

Unit Code Screening Committee:
Artemis Kares, Academic Lib.Svcs.
Robert Fulghum, Medicine
Kerry Carlin, Music

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES

Academic Integrity Board:
Paul Haggard, Math
Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science
To Fill Expired Alternate Terms:
Susan McDaniel, Biology
Robert Muzzarelli, Allied Health

Honorary Degree Committee: Connie Kledaras, Social Work

Parking and Traffic Policy Committee: Robert Fulghum, Medicine

FACULTY SENATE COMMITTEES

Committee on Committees: (2 year terms)
Caroline Ayers, Chemistry
Emily Boyce, Library and Information Studies
Tom Chenier, Allied Health

Agenda Committee: (1 year term)
Christa Reiser, Sociology & Anthropology
Conner Atkeson, History
Rita Reaves, Industry and Technology
Stella Daugherty, Math
Judy Donnalley, Library and Information Studies