

April 29, 1991

Office of the Chancellor 103 Spilman

919-757-6212

Dr. Jim Joyce Chair of the Faculty East Carolina University

Dear Dr. Joyce:

Faculty Senate resolutions 91-25, 91-26, and 91-31 are approved as submitted. I am particularly pleased to have the opportunity to approve resolution 91-31; your leadership of the East Carolina University faculty has been remarkably fine. I congratulate you on a job extraordinarily well done. The University is better because of your leadership of the faculty.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Eakin Chancellor

RRE/ra



Faculty Senate 140 Rawl Annex

919-757-6537 FSLEE@ECUVM1 April 24, 1991

Dr. Richard Eakin, Chancellor East Carolina University Spilman Building

Dear Chancellor Eakin:

On April 16, 1991, the Faculty Senate adopted, for your consideration, the following resolutions:

- Approval of curriculum matters contained in the Curriculum Committee Minutes of March 28, 1991, and April 4, 1991.

 (attachments 1 and 2)
- Recommendations from the Educational Policies and Planning
 Committee to clarify SACS policy that instructors of 5000
 level courses will maintain "a substantial difference
 between undergraduate and graduate instruction". (attachment 3)
- *#91-31 Resolution commending James M. Joyce for service as Chair of the Faculty. (attachment 4)

Other resolutions passed by the Faculty Senate, not needing your approval, were:

- #91-23 Amendment to Appendix A, Faculty Senate By-Laws regarding the Appellate Committees.
- #91-24 Amendment to Resolution #91-09 requiring that all matters concerning committee charges be referred to the Committee on Committees for review and possible revision instead of reporting directly back to the Faculty Senate.
- #91-27 Recommendation to postpone discussion and consideration of the Racial and Ethnic Harassment Policy and Grievance Procedures until the September 10, 1991, Faculty Senate meeting.
- #91-28 Possible methods that can be used for assessing teaching effectiveness that individual academic units may use.

April 24, 1991
Page 2.

#91-29 Seven characteristics of effective teaching endorsed by the Faculty Senate.

#91-30 A request for VCAA Springer, VCHS Hallock, and VCSL Matthews to request that code units submit to the Faculty Senate Office and to their appropriate Vice Chancellor their previously approved specific regulations governing evaluation of faculty for promotion.

Thank you for your consideration of the above mentioned resolutions.

Sincerely,

Jim Joyce Chair of the Faculty

/1a1

Attachments

pc: Marlene Springer Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MINUTES OF APRIL 16, 1991

The eighth regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1990-1991 was held on Tuesday, April 16, 1991, in the Great Room of the Mendenhall Student Center.

Agenda Item I. Call to Order
Chair Jim Joyce called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

Agenda Item II. Approval of Minutes
The minutes of March 19, 1991, were approved as distributed.

Agenda Item III. Special Order of the Day A. Roll Call

Absent were: Chancellor Eakin, VCSL Matthews, VCHS Hallock, Chestang (Geography), Givens (Allied Health), White (HPERS)

Alternates present were: C. Ayers for P. Ayers (Chemistry), Fletcher for Pories (Medicine), Ferrell for Swanson (History)

B. Announcements

1. Special thanks were extended to all the 1990-1991 Senators whose

terms expire today.

2. In the Fall of 1991, the United States celebrates the 200th. anniversary of the ratification of our Bill of Rights. To commemorate this event, the ECU Committee on the Bicentennial of the Constitution and the ECU Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi are pleased to announce a University Symposium entitled "The Bill of Rights at 200." The Symposium, scheduled for mid-November 1991, will include presentations by ECU faculty, students, and distinguished guest speakers. ECU Faculty and students are invited to submit papers for this symposium on any aspect of the Bill of Rights. Deadline for receipt of papers is June 15, 1991. For further information, please contact George Broussard (Music), John Moskop (Medicine), or Hugh Wease (History).

3. Academic, Appellate, and Senate Committee Chairs are reminded that Committee Annual Reports are due into the Faculty Senate Office by Wednesday, May 1, 1991.

4. The Senators were given a list of faculty who have been awarded Summer Stipends pending certification of the 1991-92 budget.

C. Chancellor's Report Chancellor Eakin was in Raleigh attending a Budget Subcommittee meeting.

D. Vice Chancellors' Reports

Vice Chancellor Springer made the following comments: Interviews are being conducted for the Dean of the School of Art. The search for the Director of the Division of Continuing Education has begun. Dr. Dorothy Muller has been appointed Dean of Undergraduate Studies. Dean Tait, School of Music, is now here. The Council of Deans and Directors has been reorganized. The Honors Committee is studying the Honors Program and will make suggestions about how to improve it and possible ways to expand it into a four-year program. Fifteen persons were granted tenure. Five were denied tenure—two of these were requests for early tenure. The odds were in favor of getting tenure. As to promotions, seventeen were granted a promotion and five were denied.

In addition Dr. Springer mentioned: Several types of grants had been awarded. Those receiving these grants have been notified or will receive notification shortly. These grants are funded out of lapsed salary dollars. Some of the grants are pending due to the possibility of budget cuts. The Faculty Computer Committee received 124 proposals of which 51