EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

The first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for academic year 1990/91 will be held on Tuesday, September 11, 1990, at 2:10 p.m. in the MENDENHALL GREAT ROOM.

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes of April 17, 1990, April 18, 1990, and September 4, 1990
- III. Special Order of the Day
 - A. Roll Call
 - B. Announcements
 - C. Richard Eakin, Chancellor
 - D. Vice Chancellors' Reports
 Marlene Springer, Academic Affairs
 Richard Brown, Business Affairs
 Alastair Connell, Health Sciences
 Jim Lanier, Institutional Advancement
 Al Matthews, Student Life
 - E. Dave Hart, Director of Athletics
 - F. Ken Wilson, Faculty Assembly Report
 - G. James LeRoy Smith, Director of Self Study for Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
 - H. Appellate Committee Elections (Attachment 1)
 Hearing Committee
 Due Process Committee
 Reconsideration Committee
- IV. Unfinished Business
- V. Report of Committees
 - A. Ad Hoc Committee to Review University Implementation Plans, Eugene Hughes
 - B. Ad Hoc Committee to Review Administrative Evaluations, William Spickerman (Attachment 2)
- VI. New Business

HEARING COMMITTEE (3 year terms)

Please refer to the Faculty Manual, Appendix D, Section IV. (Page D-9)

Membership shall be composed of full-time faculty members without administrative appointment.

Regular Members:	Expires	Alternate Members:	Expires
*James Bruner, Social Work	1990	*Donald Hoffman, Medicine	1990
*Tinsley Yarbrough, Political	Sc. 1990	*Robert Rasch, Art	1990
Miriam Quick, Nursing	1991	Don Ensley, Allied Health	1991
Malcolm South, English	1992	Pat Dunn, HPERS	1992
James O. Smith, Business	1992	Donald Parkerson, History	1992

DUE PROCESS COMMITTEE (2 year terms)

Please refer to the Faculty Manual, Appendix D, Section V. (Page D-11)

Membership shall be composed of regular teaching faculty members who hold permanent tenure.

Regular Members:	Expires	Alternate Members:	Expires
*Sheldon Downes, Allied Health	1990	*Paul Haggard, Math	1990
Emily Boyce, Library & Infor.	1991	*Doug McMillan, English	1990
Larry Hough, Political Science	1991	John Cope, Psychology	1991
Connie Kledaras, Social Work	1991	Bob Morrison, Chemistry	1991
Frances Eason, Nursing	1991	Christa Reiser, Soci/Anthro.	1991

RECONSIDERATION COMMITTEE (3 year terms)

Please refer to the Faculty Manual, Appendix D, Section VI. (Page D-14)

Membership shall be composed of full-time faculty members without administrative rank.

Regular Members:	Expires	Alternate Members:	Expires
*Bea Chauncey, Music	1990	*Wes Hankins, Geography	1990
*Ted Ellis, English	1990	*Brian McMillen, Medicine	1990
Ralph Scott, Acad. Lib. Svcs.	1991	Garrett Hume, Allied Hlth	1991
William Grossnickle, Psychology	y 1992	Mabel Laughter, Education	1992
Sandra Wurth-Hough, Poli. Sci.	1992	Jannis Shea, Home Economics	1992

Attachment 2

AD HOC COMMITTEE TO REVIEW ADMINISTRATIVE EVALUATIONS

WHEREAS there is no provision for the present administrative survey in the Faculty Manual; and

WHEREAS the present instrument is of questionable validity;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED pending further Committee recommendations, the Committee recommends to the Faculty Senate that the Senate go on record in favor of not having the administrative survey administered in the Fall Semester, 1990.