# EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

The first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1987/88 will be held on Tuesday, September 15, 1987, at 2:10 p.m. in Mendenhall Room 244.

#### AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes of April 14 and 15, 1987
- III. Special Order of the Day
  - A. Roll Call
  - B. Announcements
  - C. Richard Eakin, Chancellor
  - D. Faculty Assembly Annual Report, Larry Hough, Political Science
  - E. Appellate Committee Elections (Nominations must be followed with a brief summary of the qualifications of the nominee.):

Due Process Committee (Attachment 1)
Hearing Committee (Attachment 2)
Reconsideration Committee (Attachment 3)

- F. Election of Nominees for Search Committee for the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (Chancellor Eakin has asked that no fewer than 5 nominees and no more than 7 be elected. From this roster of nominees, he will appoint 3. Nominations must be followed with a brief summary of the qualifications of the nominee.)
- IV. Unfinished Business
- V. Report of Committees
- VI. New Business

### DUE PROCESS COMMITTEE

(Senators will be given a list of tenured faculty members at the meeting.)

The Due Process Committee guarantees that a <u>tenured faculty member</u> may not be discharged or suspended from employment without good and just cause. The Committee consists of five members and five alternates, all of whom must be members of the regular teaching faculty who hold permanent tenure.

Within ten days of receipt of the notice from the Chancellor, or his delegate, of intention to discharge him/her, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Due Process Committee.

The hearing deals only with those written specifications for reasons of the intended discharge or suspension. In reaching its decision, the Committee shall consider only evidence presented at the hearing and such written and oral arguments as the Committee, in its discretion, may allow. The faculty member has the right of appealing the Committee's decision.

# Current Members (3 to be elected):

	1989
	1989
	1989
Bill Collins, Business	1988
Ralph Scott, Academic Library Services	1988

Members Whose Terms are Expiring: Paul Haggard, Mathematics Lawrence Hough, Political Science Ione Ryan, Counseling Center

# Current Alternates (3 to be elected):

	1989
	1989
	1989
Al King, HPERS	1988
Christa Reiser, Sociology/Anthropology	1988

Alternates Whose Terms are Expiring: Conner Atkeson, History Emily Boyce, Library & Information Studies Fred Ragan, History

#### HEARING COMMITTEE

The Hearing Committee guarantees to <u>nontenured faculty members</u> the right of a hearing concerning an unfavorable action resulting in nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure.

The Hearing Committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative appointment.

Within five days after receiving notice of an unfavorable action concerning nonconferral of permanent tenure resulting from the conference with the Chancellor, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Hearing Committee.

The Hearing Committee's review of the faculty member's case shall be limited solely to determining whether the decision not to reappoint or confer permanent tenure was based upon any of the grounds stated to be impermissible in Section 604B of The Code of the University of North Carolina.

The Hearing Committee shall consider the written request and grant a hearing if it determines that (a) the request contains a contention that the decision was based upon impermissible grounds under Section 604B of The Code and that (b) the facts suggested, if established, will support the contention.

# Current Members (2 to be elected):

	1990
	1990
Marie Farr, English	1989
Mariam Quick, Nursing	1988
*James O. Smith, Business	1989

Members Whose Terms are Expiring: James Bruner, Social Work Tinsley Yarbrough, Political Science

#### Current Alternates (2 to be elected):

	1990
	1990
Pat Dunn, HPERS	1989
Brian Harris, Foreign Languages & Literatures	1989
Floyd Read, Science Education	1988

Alternates Whose Terms are Expiring: John Marshall Carter, History \*James O. Smith, Business

\*On August 20, 1987, Marsha Ironsmith resigned from the Hearing Committee, leaving a vacant seat with term expiring in 1989. James O. Smith, Business, was appointed to fill the unexpired term.

### RECONSIDERATION COMMITTEE

This Committee guarantees the right of <u>tenured</u> and <u>nontenured</u> faculty members to a hearing on termination of employment due to financial exigency or major curtailment or elimination of a teaching, research, or public service program.

The membership of the Committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative rank.

If a faculty member makes a written request within ten days after receiving notice of termination of employment, the Chancellor, or his delegate, shall insure that the hearing is accorded before a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the Committee on Reconsideration of Faculty-Program Termination Decision. The Committee may consider only such evidence as is presented at the hearing and need consider only the evidence offered that it considers fair and reliable.

# Current Members (2 to be elected):

	1990
	1990
Stella Daugherty, Mathematics	1988
William Grossnickle, Psychology	1989
Fred Parham, Chemistry	1989

Members Whose Terms are Expiring: Bea Chauncey, Music Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science

## Alternate Members (2 to be elected):

	1990
	1990
Rodney Schmidt, Music	1989
Jannis Shea, Home Economics	1989
Keats Sparrow, English	1988

Alternates Whose Terms are Expiring: Ted Ellis, English Ray Jones, Business