## ANNUAL REPORT OF THE TEACHING EFFECTIVENESS COMMITTEE

I. DATE: May 28, 1986

TO: Kenneth Wilson, Chair of the Faculty

FROM: Belinda Lee, Chair

II. Membership of the Committee

Ex Officio: Myra Cain, Representative for the Vice Chancellor for

Academic Affairs

Eugene Ryan, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

Ernie Uhr, Dean of the School of Business

Faculty: William Bloodworth, English, 1987

Walter Calhoun, History, 1986

Madge Chamness, Allied Health, 1987

Robert Denney, Continuing Education, 1986

Belinda Lee, Nursing, 1987 Gary Levine, Medicine, 1986

Terrence McEnally, Physics, 1988 Frank Rabey, Allied Health, 1988

Ed Ryan, Biology, 1988

Mulatu Wubneh, Geography, 1986

Students: Coralie Patterson

Chris Tomasic Dana Troutt

III. Committee Meetings (Dates and Members Absent)

September 27, 1985 Bloodworth, Calhoun, Levine, E.E. Ryan,

Uhr, Wubneh

October 10, 1985 Calhoun, Chamness, Levine, Uhr

December 6, 1985 Calhoun, Levine, E.P. Ryan, Uhr

January 10, 1986 Denney, Levine

IV. Reports to the Faculty Senate:

January 28, 1986 (for information only), Teaching Effectiveness Committee Recommendations, "Guidelines for Selecting the Recipients of the Robert and Lina Mays and Robert L. Jones Teaching Excellence Awards" (see attached).

V. Specific Instructions to the Committee by the Faculty Senate

No specific instructions were given to the Committee by the Faculty Senate other than those found in the Committee's organizational charge.

- F. Assist the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs to evaluate the criteria and process used to select the recipients of the Robert and Lina Mays and Robert L. Jones Teaching Excellence Awards.
- G. Continue to promote the importance of teaching in the teaching research service triad.
- X. Evaluation of the Committee
  - A. Structure: Worked well
  - B. Duties and Functions: The Committee has continued to promote teaching excellence and to encourage improved teaching effectiveness as delineated in its charge.
  - C. Personnel: Outstanding!
- XI. Suggestions for Improving the Effectiveness of the Committee

Student members should be appointed in the spring for the next academic year. Their appointment in December, 1985 limited their participation.

Signed: Chairperson Belenda Lee

Secretary

BL:cph

GUIDELINES FOR SELECTING THE RECIPIENTS OF THE ROBERT AND LINA MAYS AND ROBERT L. JONES TEACHING EXCELLENCE AWARDS 1. At the school or college level, the Dean is to solicit nominations from individual academic units. A formula of approximately one nominee for each ten faculty members in the academic unit is recommended with the exact number of nominees from each unit to be determined by the Dean. Nominees must be involved in undergraduate teaching. 2. The Dean of each school or college is to send nominations to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs on the basis of approximately one nominee for each thirty faculty members, with each school or college nominating at least one person. The exact number of nominees for each school or college is to be determined by the Vice chancellor for Academic Affairs. 3. The Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs receives the nominations by the beginning of the Spring Break. 4. The Vice Chancellor reviews the nominations and reduces the number of candidates in half and forwards his nominations (finalists) to a committee to be made up of: Student Government Association President Teaching Effectiveness Committee Chair Faculty Senate Chair Alumni Association Representative (Appointed by the Alumni Association) One Past Winner (Appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs) The committee recommends two outstanding faculty members for awards to be given during Fall Convocation and sends those names to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. The VCAA office notifies the Alumni Affairs Office. (If the number of awards is ever changed, the committee will recommend the approved number of faculty members.) 5. The proceeding of the committee and the names of the two faculty members chosen will not be announced until the Fall convocation. The finalists will also be publicly recognized. 6. Four years must have elapsed before a faculty member can receive the teaching excellence award for the second time. 7. Nominations material must include the following items: a. A letter of nomination to the Dean from a unit head (no more than two pages, single-spaced) which may include any information which would be useful in understanding the quality of education provided by the nominee. In the letter must appear a summary of student opinion survey data and other means used by the department to solicit student opinion over at least a two year period, and a summary outline of supporting information that units may wish to include. In cases where the department head is the nominee, the letter of appointment must be signed by the chair of the appropriate committee-for example, the chair of the personnel committee or the chair of the special committee set up for this purpose. b. The names, addresses and phone numbers of three (former or current) students who may be contacted.