#### FACULTY SENATE

Canideen end de emedmen valluset benuned to deile

(Legard) thedools ed od medani)

( own shedgele ed of own) ; ceasensith dans

Robert Janellenberger, Business

Tirestonia McGrath, Mathematics

sequines suppressing to Lengerance

Bullicare ere served ecody sedeniedla

mearing before the Due Process Committee.

The first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1984/85 will be held on Tuesday, September 18, 1984, at 2:10 p.m. in Mendenhall Student Center, Room 221.

# A G E N D A

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes of April 17 and 18, 1984.
- III. Special Order of the Day
  A. Announcements
  - B. Elections:
    - 1. Replacement for Martha Engelke, Committee on Committees
    - 2. Due Process, Hearing and Reconsideration Committees
  - C. Discussion of On-Line Registration and Registration/Drop-Add, Fall, 1984 (Gil Moore)
- IV. Unfinished Business
  Rescheduling of Change of Major and Preregistration for Spring Semester 1985 to October 1-12 and October 8-12, 1984, respectively.
  - V. Report of Committees

5861

VI. New Business

the hearing Committee guarantees to montenured faculty members the right

The Hearing Counittee is composed of five members and five alternates why

so Insminioqqes men al galdipast noidos sidenoveim as galarsono galasso e lo

are full-till-till faculty members wiphout administrative appointment.

DUE PROCESS COMMITTEE (Senators will be given a list of tenured faculty members at the meeting.)

The Due Process Committee guarantees that a tenured faculty member may not be discharged or suspended from employment without good and just cause. The committee consists of five members and five alternates, all of whom must be members of the regular teaching faculty who hold permanent tenure.

Within ten days of receipt of the notice from the Chancellor or his delegate of intention to discharge him/her, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Due Process Committee.

The hearing deals only with those written specifications for reasons of the intended discharge or suspension. In reaching its decision, the committee shall consider only evidence presented at the hearing and such written and oral arguments as the committee, in its discreation, may allow. The faculty member has the right of appealing the committee's decision.

Current members:	(Number	to	be	elected:	three.)
------------------	---------	----	----	----------	---------

Lawrence Hough, Political Science Ione Ryan, Counseling Center	ski not	1985
Registration and Registration/Drop-Add, fall,	oni i-r	1985 1986 1986

#### Members whose terms are expiring or who are ineligible:

Donald Sexauer, Art	1984
Eldean Pierce, Nursing	1984
Trenton Davis, Allied Health	1985

## Current Alternates: (No. to be elected: two.)

Fred Ragan, History Robert Schellenberger, Business Pat Garton, Allied Health	1985 1985 1985
	1986
	1986

## Alternates whose terms are expiring:

1984
1704
1984

#### HEARING COMMITTEE

The Hearing Committee guarantees to nontenured faculty members the right of a hearing concerning an unfavorable action resulting in nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure.

The Hearing Committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative appointment.

Within five days after receiving notice of an unfavorable action concerning nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure resulting from the conference with the Chancellor, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Faculty Hearing Committee.

The Hearing Committee's review of the faculty member's case shall be limited solely to determining whether the decision not to reappoint or confer permanent tenure was based upon any of the grounds stated to be impremissible in Section 604B of The Code of the University of North Carolina.

The Hearing Committee shall consider the written request and grant a hearing if it determines that (a) the request contains a contention that the decision was based upon impermissible grounds under Section 604B of The Code and that (b) the facts suggested, if established, will support the contention.

Current Members: (No. to be elected: two)

Miriam Quick, Nursing Judy Sadler, Library Science Mary Fowler, Education	1986 1986
	1987 1987
Members whose terms are expiring:	
Mary Jo Bratton, History	1984
Donald Sexauer, Art	1984
Current Alternates: (No. to be elected:	

Floyd Read, Science Education	1985
Brain Harris, Foreign Languages	1986
	1986
	1987
	1987

## Alternates whose terms are expiring or who have resigned:

Marsha Ironsmith, Psychology	1984
David Sanders, English	1984
Deborah Panson, Business (resigned)	1986

### RECONSIDERATION COMMITTEE

This committee guarantees the right of tenured and nontenured faculty members to a hearing on termination of employment due to financial exigency or major curtailment or elimination of a teaching, research, or public service program.

The membership of the committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative rank.

If a faculty member makes a written request within ten days after receiving notice of termination of employment, the Chancellor or his delegate

shall insure that the hearing is accorded before a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the Committee on Reconsideration of Faculty-Program Termination Decisions. The committee may consider only such evidence as is presented at the hearing and need consider only the evidence offered that it considers fair and reliable.

bookylsion betimet

sweinens tenure wa

restable of the Till Seniors and

- Deed asw wolerosh :

militaris (di disdi one

Consider Geriber Designation

tracing the total view

JH . doldedel blovesk

THA DEVISION DISTOR

Sous tod . Desh byole

Richold E. Crash als at

RESOLOGOUSE RUSTINESTONE SOSTERING

(banalean) seedle de lesses.

Neilland , and Dust bived

abendiced eved one so enigione our anast seonw setsonedia

30 8403 5053733 735

Current Members: (No. to be elected: two)	
Stella Daugherty, Mathematics William Grossnickle, Psychology Mary Kirkpatrick, Nursing	1985 1986 1986 1987
Members whose terms expire:	Bins sar
Robert Morrison, Chemistry Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science	1984
Current Alternates: (No. to be elected: three)	naint
Bea Chauncey, Music Robbie Edwards, Nursing	1986 1986 1985
4801 4801	1987
Alternates whose terms expire or who are ineligible:	
Walter Calhoun, History Robert Woodside, Mathematics Art Haney, Art (ineligible)	1984 1984 1985

1861

11861

11881

Miles committees guarantees the right of tenured and nontenured faculty

ne voneplat hearing of termination of employment due to financial extuency or

evid bas ereduen evil to besognoe at eeddinoo eil to gideradon of

esives sildug do , donasesen , anilosa of a leaching, descarch, or public service

Chast evidendeidumis lybinin eredaen vilvosi emil-iun ene officede reak

region and menuer orders, a written request within ben days after

etagelet 'eld an mollement entry treampline to pettedin set to estimate the estimate the