# FACULTY SENATE MINUTES April 18, 1984

enew anoldsalmon li estatumen dose no? disti end wd ma bellso sask

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for the 1984-85 academic year was held in Room 244, Mendenhall Student Center on Wednesday, April 18, 1984, at 2:10 p.m. with James LeRoy Smith, chair, presiding (except during election of Chair when Stella Daugherty, vice chair, presided). Members absent were: Downing (Theatre Arts), Terrell (Education), Chancellor Howell, Vice Chancellor Laupus. Alternates present were: Givens for Thomas (Allied Health), Haggard for Davis (Math), and Boklage for O'Brien (Medicine).

Agenda Item I. The Chair called the meeting to order and recognized McGee, Grossnickle and Sadler as tellers for the election. He explained that there were 51 senators and 5 individuals with voting privileges (Chancellor Howell, Vice Chancellors Volpe, Laupus and Meyer and the Administrative Council Representative, Ryan) for a total of 56 persons with a vote.

Agenda Item II. The Chair called the roll and senators for the 1984-85 academic year were recognized.

## Agenda Item IIIA. Report of the Nominating Committee

Sadler (Library Science) presented the nominees for officers of the Senate for 1984-85. Each of the candidates for Chair gave a short presentation on their perception of the role of chair of the faculty and the issues which the Senate should address in the coming year. There were no nominees from the floor for any of the offices. The results of the elections were:

## Chair of the Faculty

Longhill 11
Smith 42
Total Ballots cast 53

James LeRoy Smith (Philosophy) was elected Chair of the Faculty.

## Vice Chair of the Faculty

Chauncey 14
Daugherty 39
Total ballots cast 53

Stella Daugherty (Mathematics) was elected Vice Chair of the Faculty.

# Secretary of the Faculty

Atkeson 20
Mayberry 32
Total ballots cast 52

Vancy Mayberry (Foreign Languages and Literatures) was elected Secretary of the Faculty.

Agenda Item III.B. Report of the Committee on Committees

Haney (Art) presented the report of the Committee on Committees. Nominations

were called for by the Chair for each committee. If nominations were presented for a specific committee, the Senate elected the members for that committee at that time. After reviewing the total list of committees, the entire list was approved. All terms are for three years unless specified otherwise. The results of the elections were:

a eneigos bas (misM) eivsu tot basgash (dalas

Sign the terminal and the security allower affects

ed Tellageena (esaste wasadil) asibic

rio3 Redsbibniso ordando dosa . 38-8821

ADMISSIONS COMMITTEE John Childers, Psychology Alfred King, HPERS Don Clemens, Chemistry (alternate)

Wilbur Castellow, Psychology Kenneth Wilburn, History

nordoeis en mor cheffer as melbac bos eller CAREER EDUCATION P. Howard Cummings, Nursing Alta Andrews, Nursing C.E. VanZandt, Education Michael McLeod, Business Luis Acevez, Foreign Languages and Literatures (1985)

CONTINUING EDUCATION COMMITTEE John Daniels, Mathematics Marilyn Miller, Library Services

COURSE DROP APPEALS COMMITTEE Miriam Quick, Nursing Veronica Wang, English

CREDITS COMMITTEE Tom Chambliss, Education

Tinsley Yarbrough, Political Science

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE Harris (Foreign Languages and Literatures) was nominated from the floor. Results of the election were: FARE (MINGOEDILINE) NATIONAL

Mary Susan Templeton, Allied Health Hugh Wease, History William Grossnickle, Psychology Paul Topper, Music 32 (1986) Stella Daugherty, Mathematics Brian Harris, F L & L

48 ballots cast

Templeton, Wease, Grossnickle, and Daugherty were elected to three-year terms. Topper will serve until 1986.

## EDUCATIONAL POLICIES AND PLANNING COMMITTEE

Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science

#### FACULTY AFFAIRS

Adler (Physics), Muzzarelli (Allied Health and Social Work), and Pories (Medicine) were nominated from the floor. Results of the election were:

Helland didneybooth make liv Mohammed Ahrari, Political Science both vactors seementary vactors to the parties and the Nancy Mayberry, Foreign Languages Marsha Ironsmith, Psychology 29 Carl Adler, Physics Robert Muzzarelli, Allied Health 1914 99 T bris differente Walter Porion, Medicine 25 (alternate) 47 ballots cast

Ironsmsith and Adler were elected to three-year terms. Pories was elected as an alternate for three years.

Marriagh balle . dancom omben

arest mont again took

BEER LESSIVIES VIETORI 1935 1935

LURED TO MOLIDOLI - DITE MOST BOMES

ase and and settles as the state

econe to a visited a sovou vilme

Timstey Tarbrough, Political Science 1989

things on felt side Requisites (alternate)

like niel : 1881 Itime syves tim emit bus depode-direk

FACULTY COMPUTER \*Paul Gemperline, Chemistry Dorothy H. Clayton, Political Science Charles W. O'Rear, Biology Robert Bernhardt, Math (1985)

FACULTY GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE S. J. Transon of the Charles of the Contract o Larry Hough, Political Science Constantine G. Kledaras, Allied Health and Social Work

fano sinifed FF

FROM TERMS and all drug are smiled own FACULTY WELFARE COMMITTEE Robert Muzzarelli, Allied Health and Social Work Clifford Knight, Biology Floyd Mattheis, Science Education Phil Adler, History Library administration of the contraction of the co

GENERAL COLLEGE COMMITTEE Gregory Ross, Philosophy Donald Neal, Geology

LIBRARIES COMMITTEE Chia-yu Li, Chemistry C.T. Martoccia, Psychology Peggy Koonce, Education David Lawrence, Geology

RESEARCH/CREATIVE ACTIVITY COMMITTEE Gregg Givens, Allied Health and Social Work Brian McMillen, Medicine Margie Gallagher, Home Economics George Evans, Chemistry Ed Leahy, Geography (1986)

STUDENT RECRUITMENT AND RETENTION COMMITTEE Sylvia Brown, Nursing andoca teacher design recipion, moeily mel Glenn Chappell, Business George Williams, HPERS (1985)

STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS, FELLOWSHIPS AND FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE Young-dahl Song, Political Science Ray Elmore, Art Lilla Holsey, Home Economics

TEACHING EFFECTIVENESS COMMITTEE Belinda Lee (Nursing) was nominated from the floor. Results of the election were:

Madge McGrath, Allied Health
William Bloodworth, English
Ken Wilson, Sociology/Anthropology/Economics 26
Belinda Lee, Nursing

33

36

37

45

45

45

45

45

McGrath, Bloodworth and Lee were elected

TEACHING GRANTS COMMITTEE
Raymond Webster, Psychology
Biruta Erdmann, Art
Joe Hill, Business

#### ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES

#### Academic Integrity Board

Tinsley Yarbrough, Political Science, 1986 Vila Rosenfeld, Home Economics (alternate), 1986

### University Athletic Committee

The Chair stated that three members were to be elected rather than two members. Two terms are until the fall of 1987, one term is until fall, 1986. Nominees from the floor were: Hume (Allied Health and Social Work), Cain (HPERS), Gooding (Business). Results of the election were:

VIII BENEVALERSVA GRADE

( degr) addrance of Author ( 1886)

Terri Lawler, Nursing
Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Sci. 25
Garrett Hume, Allied Health & SW 25
William Cain, HPERS 23
Carl Gooding, Business 18
45 ballots cast

Wurth-Hough and Hume will serve until 1987; Cain will serve until 1986.

University Facilities Committee
Ruth Katz, Library Services, 1986
Eldean Pierce, Nursing, 1986
Robert Woodside, Mathematics, 1986

Agenda Item IIIC. Election of Committee on Committees (1984-85)

#### Nominees were:

Emily Boyce, Library Science
Judy Sadler, Library Science
Robert Woodside, Math
Ken Wilson, Sociology/Anthropology/Economics
Martha Engelke, Nursing

All nominees were elected by acclamation.

Agenda Item IIID. Election of Agenda Committee (1984-85)

Nominees were:

JoAnn Jones, English Artemis Kares, Library Services Bea Chauncey, Music John Longhill, Business Conner Atkeson, History

All nominees were elected by acclamation.

The meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

Martha K. Engelke Secretary of the Faculty