ANNUAL REPORT OF THE CALENDAR COMMITTEE

Date: April 30, 1984 I. James LeRoy Smith, Chair of the Faculty To: Ruth B. Jones From:

II. Membership of the Committee: Ex officio: Chancellor John M. Howell Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Angelo A. Volpe Chair of the Faculty, James LeRoy Smith

Elected Members: Chair: Ruth Jones, Business Secretary: Karen Krupa, Nursing Wilbur Castellow, Psychology Patricia Garton, Community Health Carolyn Hampton, Science Education Alfred Wang, English

Student: Robert T. Poole

- Committee meetings (dates and members absent): III. September 13, 1983 (Hampton, Poole, and ex officio members) November 10, 1983 (Hampton, Poole, and ex officio members)
- Date of reports to the Faculty Senate during the year: IV. September 20, 1983 December 6, 1983

April 17, 1984

- V. Specific instructions, if any, given to the committee by the Faculty Senate other than those found in the committee's organizational charge. None
- VI. Brief statement of committee organization, subcommittees, research activities, etc.: The committee used ad hoc subcommittees to prepare the original draft of the proposed calendars but otherwise functioned as a whole.
- VII. List of committee accomplishments: Submitted to Faculty Senate a recommendation that Commencement be changed from May 4 to May 5, 1984. Submitted to Faculty Senate a recommendation that Fall Break 1985 be scheduled for October 21 and 22. Prepared and submitted to Faculty Senate calendars for Summer School, 1986; Fall Semester, 1986; and Spring Semester, 1987.

Citation of Senate resolution numbers that originated with the committee: VIII. Changing of Commencement from May 4 to May 5, 1984. 83-39: Fall Break 1985 scheduled for October 21 and 22. 83-48:

- IX. Proposals and/or business to be carried over to next year: Proposed calendars for 86-87 referred back to committee
- X. Evaluation of the committee:

8. 1

- A. Structure: Satisfactory
- B. Duties: Satisfactory
- C. Functions: Satisfactory
- D. Personnel: Excellent
- Suggestions for improving the effectiveness of the committee: IX. None

Ruth B. Jones, Chair

Karen Krupa, Secretary

Dereiter

Received

MAY 1 1 1984 FACULTY SENATE 4.

