FACULTY SENATE

The first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1983/1984 will be held on Tuesday, September 20, 1983, at 2:10 p.m. in Mendenhall Student Center, Room 244.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of: April 19, 1983
 April 20, 1982 (organizational meeting),
 April 26, 1983
 June 7, 1983
- 3. Special Order of the Day
 - A. Remarks from Chancellor Howell
 - B. Elections --Academic Integrity (see attached)
 --University Athletic (see attached)
 --Agenda Committee Member to replace Sally Brett
 --Due Process Committee
 --Hearing Committee
 --Reconsideration Committee
 - C. Announcements
 - D. Faculty Assembly: Annual Report of Delegation for 1982-1983 (C. Ayers)
 - E. Army ROTC Report (Major Michael H. Bishop)
- 4. Unfinished Business

Committee on Committees:

(i) Second reading of Dissolution of Teacher

Ed. Com.

(Art Haney)

(ii) Second reading of quorum reduction from

nine to eight faculty members on Teaching

Grants Committee

- 5. Report of Committees
 - A. Calendar Committee (R. Jones)
 - B. Curriculum Committee (September 8, 1983, minutes) (Wm. Grossnickle)
 - C. Student Recruitment and Retention (Tilton Willcox)
- 6. New Business

Attachment for Agenda Item 3B:
Nominees for the Academic Integrity Committee

Artemis Kares, Library Services Carlton Heckrotte, Biology Rosina Chia, Psychology Don Sexauer, Art

Alternates

Frances Eason, Nursing
L.F. Lewis, Allied Health
Doug McMillan, English
Michael Bassman, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Nominee for University Athletic Committee

Paul P. Alston, Allied Health

(A list of tenured faculty members will be provided at the meeting for senators.)

Due Process Committee

The Due Process Committee guarantees that a tenured faculty member may not be discharged or suspended from employment without good and just cause. The committee consists of five members and five alternates, all of whom must be members of the regular teaching faculty who hold permanent tenure.

Within ten days of receipt of the notice from the Chancellor or his delegate of intention to discharge him/her, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Due Process Committee.

The hearing deals only with those written specifications for reasons of the intended discharge or suspension. In reaching its decision, the committee shall consider only evidence presented at the hearing and such written and oral arguments as the committee, in its discretion, may allow. The faculty member has the right of appealing the committee's decision.

Current members:

Donald Sexauer, Art Eldean Pierce, Nursing	1984 1985 1985 1985
Members whose terms are expiring: Trenton Davis, Allied Health Lawrence Hough, Political Science Jack Thornton, Business	1983 1983 1983
Current alternates:	
James Wirth, Mathematics Virginia McGrath, Mathematics	1984 1984 1985 1985 1985

Alternates whose terms are expiring:

Anne Briley, Library Servvices	1983
Joe Davis, Mathematics	1983
Jim Rees, Drama and Speech	1983

Hearing Committee

The Hearing Committee guarantees to nontenured faculty members the right of a hearing concerning an unfavorable action resulting in nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure.

The Hearing Committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative appointment.

Within five days after receiving notice of an unfavorable action concerning nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure resulting from the conference with the Chancellor, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Faculty Hearing Committee.

The Hearing Committee's review of the faculty member's case shall be limited solely to determining whether the decision not to reappoint or confer permanent tenure was based upon any of the grounds stated to be impermissible in Section 604B of The Code of the University of North Carolina.

The Hearing Committee shall consider the written request and grant a hearing if it determines that (a) the request contains a contention that the decision was based upon impermissible grounds under Section 604B of The Code and that (b) the facts suggested, if established, will support the contention.

Current members:

Mary Jo Bratton, History Donald Sexauer, Art Miriam Quick, Nursing	1984 1985 1986 1986
Members whose terms are expiring:	
Carl Adler, Physics Judith Sadler, Library Science	1983 1983
Current alternates:	
Paula Johnson, Drama & Speech David Sanders, English Floyd Read, Science Education	1984 1985 1986 1986
Alternates whose terms are expiring: Charles McDonald, Biology Ed Powers, Business	1983 1983

Reconsideration Committee

This committee guarantees the right of tenured and nontenured faculty members to a hearing on termination of employment due to financial exigency or major curtailment or elimination of a teaching, research, or public service program.

The membership of the committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative rank.

If a faculty member makes a written request within ten days after receiving notice of termination of employment, the Chancellor or his delegate shall insure that the hearing is accorded before a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the Committee on Reconsideration of Faculty-Program Termination Decisions. The committee may consider only such evidence as is presented at the hearing and need consider only the evidence offered that it considers fair and reliable.

Current members:

Robert Morrison, Chemistry Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science Stella Daugherty, Mathematics	1984 1985 1986 1986
Members whose terms expire:	
Malcolm South, English Vincent Bellis, Biology	1983 1983
Current alternates:	
Walter Calhoun, History Robert Woodside, Mathematics Art Haney, Art	1984 1985 1986 1986
Alternates whose terms expire: Joseph Hill, Business Artemis Kares, Library Services	1983