MINUTES FACULTY SENATE OF EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF 1982/1983 ACADEMIC YEAR Almobace Tol anoidanimon add beineseng eeddimmon of To Tisco ebiabook A 20 April 1983

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1983/1984 was called to order by Chairperson Caroline LeRoy Ayers on Wednesday, April 20, 1983, at 2:10 p.m. in Room 244, Mendenhall Student Center. The Secretary noted the following members were absent: Hartley, Downing, Williams, Watson, and ex officio Laupus. Alternates present were: P. Daugherty for E. Ryan, and Adler for Sayetta.

Agenda Item 3A: Report of Nominating Committee

V. Rosenfeld, chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the nominees for Chair of the Faculty: Sally A. Brett and James LeRoy Smith. Stella Daugherty was nominated from the floor.

BALLOT	1
Sally A. Brett, English	5
Stella Daugherty, Mathematics	10
James LeRoy Smith, Philosophy	30

Ballots Cast

noitemill linusting

Teacher Education Countt

Woodedde nominated Bileice

detty Levey and Amos Clar

James LeRoy Smith, Philosophy, was elected Chair of the Faculty for the 1983/1984 academic year. Belity Levey, Education

Bed Lotes Casel 43 Nominees for Vice Chair of the Faculty:

v Smith rominated

coll of Educations

and alared from

Rosenfeld presented two nominees: Stella M. Daugherty, Mathematics, and Lawrence Hough, Political Science.

Spean Smith, and Soott Parker for the Student		
Ballot	1	
Stella M. Daugherty, Mathematics	31	
Larry E. Hough, Political Science	14	

Ballots Cast Stella M. Daugherty was elected Vice Chair of the Faculty.

Nominees for Secretary of the Faculty:

Rosenfeld presented two nominees: Martha K. Engelke, School of Nursing, and Jo Ann F. Jones, English.

Ballot	1
Martha K. Engelke, Nursing	25
Jo Ann F. Jones, English	21
Ballots Cast	46

Martha K. Engelke was elected Secretary of the Faculty.

Agenda Item 3B: Report from the Committee on Committees

R. Woodside, chair of the committee, presented the nominations for academic committee membership.

Faculty Welfare Committee

E. Hyan, and Adler

not peninom adt be

Woodside nominated Sallie Mann, Lona Ratcliffe, and Peggy Wood for membership. Constantine Kledaras nominated Robert Muzzarelli. The first ballot determined membership to fill the unexpired term until 1984.

introp and ex	Lemshiller portmod vesitush tidos	
	Ballot	
	Sallie Mann, Library Svcs.	10
	Lona Ratcliffe, Nursing	2
	Peggy Wood, Allied Health	30 3300
	Robert Muzzarelli, Allied Health	27
i the more set	Ballots Cast	43

Muzzarelli was elected to fill the term expiring in 1984. S. Mann, L. Ratcliffe, and P. Wood were elected to terms expiring in 1986.

## Teacher Education Committee

Woodside nominated Rick Barnes and Phil Phillips. James LeRoy Smith nominated Betty Levey and Amos Clark nominated Pat Terrell from the School of Education.

Ballot	1
Rick Barnes, HPERS	10
Phil Phillips, Art	8
Betty Levey, Education	25
Pat Terrell, Education	36
Ballots Cast 43	

THE VORSE COURSE

otmobsos #BRINEBEI

Levey and Terrell were elected to memberships expiring in 1986.

# Student Recruitment and Retention

Chair Woodside nominated Susan Smith, and Scott Parker for the Student Lou Everett, Nursing, was nominated from Recruitment and Retention Committee. Stella M. Daugherty, Mathematics the floor.

Ballot		1
	tt, Nursing	13
	ker, Drama and Speech	29
	th, Allied Health	32
	s Cast 39	ey of th

JOLLSE

hardon K Engelike was elected Secretary of the Esculty.

partenuli , soliegadi .N sultash

de Ama F. Jones, Inglish

Ballots Cast

Parker and Smith were elected to memberships expiring in 1986.

## General College Committee

The Chair placed Robert Christian, and Margaret Capan in nomination. Tom Johnson nominated Rick Barnes, HPERS.

Ballot	1
Rick Barnes, HPERS	20
Margaret Capan, Business	27
Robert Christian, Biology	27
Ballots cast	40

Margaret Capan and Robert Christian were elected for terms expiring in 1986.

## Faculty Computer

Woodside nominated Jean Huryn, Kathleen Kolasa, and Don Sexauer. Robert Dough, Science Education was nominated from the floor.

Ballot	1
Robert Dough, Scienc Education	26
Jean Huryn, Soc/Anth/Econ.	31
Kathleen Kolasa, Home Economics	29
Don Sexauer, Art	24
Ballots Cast	40

Dough, Huryn, and Kolasa were elected for terms expiring in 1986.

Grossnickle moved to elect the remainder as presented. Haney seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Kledaras moved that the faculty members recommended for interim appointment (until September) to the Academic Integrity Board be elected. Jones seconded. The motion passed. Members are listed as follows:

Robert Hursey, Mathematics Artemis Kares, Library Services Fred Broadhurst, Technology Don Sexauer, Art

Alternates: Fred Hamblen, Business Herb Carlton, Political Science

Agenda Item 3C: Election of Committee on Committees for 1983/1984

Faculty members nominated and for five positions on the Committee on Committees and the votes received are as follows:

Judy Sadler, Library Services	25
Henry Ferrell, History	14
Emily Boyce, Library Science	22
Art Haney, Art	26
Sylvene Spickerman, Nursing	15
Robert Woodside, Mathematics	20
Constantine Kledaras, Allied H.	21
Pat Daugherty, Allied Health	22

#### General College Committee

The Chair placed Robert Christian, and Margaret Capan in nomination. Tom Johnson nominated Rick Barnes, HPERS.

Ballot	1
Rick Barnes, HPERS	20
Margaret Capan, Business	27
Robert Christian, Biology	27
Ballots cast	40

Margaret Capan and Robert Christian were elected for terms expiring in 1986.

#### Faculty Computer

Woodside nominated Jean Huryn, Kathleen Kolasa, and Don Sexauer. Robert Dough, Science Education was nominated from the floor.

Ballot	1
Robert Dough, Scienc Education	26
Jean Huryn, Soc/Anth/Econ.	31
Kathleen Kolasa, Home Economics	29
Don Sexauer, Art	24
Ballots Cast	40

Dough, Huryn, and Kolasa were elected for terms expiring in 1986.

Grossnickle moved to elect the remainder as presented. Haney seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Kledaras moved that the faculty members recommended for interim appointment (until September) to the Academic Integrity Board be elected. Jones seconded. The motion passed. Members are listed as follows:

Robert Hursey, Mathematics Artemis Kares, Library Services Fred Broadhurst, Technology Don Sexauer, Art

Alternates: Fred Hamblen, Business Herb Carlton, Political Science

Agenda Item 3C: Election of Committee on Committees for 1983/1984

Faculty members nominated and for five positions on the Committee on Committees and the votes received are as follows:

Judy Sadler, Library Services	25
Henry Ferrell, History	14
Emily Boyce, Library Science	22
Art Haney, Art	26
Sylvene Spickerman, Nursing	15
Robert Woodside, Mathematics	20
Constantine Kledaras, Allied H.	21
Pat Daugherty, Allied Health	22

Buologry

40

Ballots Cast Sadler, Boyce, Haney, Kledaras and Daugherty were elected.

Agenda Item 3D: Election of Agenda Committee for 1983/1984

Senators nominated and elected by acclamation for five positions on the Agenda Committee are listed as follows:

William Grossnickle, Psychology Artemis Kares, Library Services Larry Hough, Political Science Sally Brett, English JoAn Jones, English

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

\* . . .

Stella Daugherty Secretary of the Faculty

Helen Broaddus Office Secretary of the Faculty Senate