ANNUAL REPORT OF THE CALENDAR COMMITTEE

I. Date: April 30, 1984

To: James LeRoy Smith, Chair of the Faculty

From: Ruth B. Jones

II. Membership of the Committee:

Ex officio: Chancellor John M. Howell

Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Angelo A. Volpe

Chair of the Faculty, James LeRoy Smith

Elected Members: Chair: Ruth Jones, Business

Secretary: Karen Krupa, Nursing

Wilbur Castellow, Psychology

Patricia Garton, Community Health

Carolyn Hampton, Science Education

Alfred Wang, English

Student: Robert T. Poole

III. Committee meetings (dates and members absent):
September 13, 1983 (Hampton, Poole, and ex officio members)
November 10, 1983 (Hampton, Poole, and ex officio members)

IV. Date of reports to the Faculty Senate during the year: September 20, 1983 December 6, 1983 April 17, 1984

V. Specific instructions, if any, given to the committee by the Faculty Senate other than those found in the committee's organizational charge. None

VI. Brief statement of committee organization, subcommittees, research activities, etc.:

The committee used ad hoc subcommittees to prepare the original draft of the proposed calendars but otherwise functioned as a whole.

VII. List of committee accomplishments:

Submitted to Faculty Senate a recommendation that Commencement be changed from

May 4 to May 5, 1984.

Submitted to Faculty Senate a recommendation that Fall Break 1985 be scheduled

for October 21 and 22.

Prepared and submitted to Faculty Senate calendars for Summer School, 1986; Fall Semester, 1986; and Spring Semester, 1987.

VIII. Citation of Senate resolution numbers that originated with the committee:

83-39: Changing of Commencement from May 4 to May 5, 1984. 83-48: Fall Break 1985 scheduled for October 21 and 22. Proposals and/or business to be carried over to next year: Proposed calendars for 86-87 referred back to committee Evaluation of the committee: A. Structure: Satisfactory B. Duties: Satisfactory C. Functions: Satisfactory D. Personnel: Excellent Suggestions for improving the effectiveness of the committee: None Ruth B. Jones, Chair Karen Krupa, Secretary FACULTY SENATE