PLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF LOCATION.

FACULTY SENATE

first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic years.

The first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1982/83 will be held on Tuesday, September 21, 1982, at 2:10 p.m. in Mendenhall Student Center, Room 221.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Minutes
- 3. Special Order of the Day
 - A. Announcements
 - B. Chancellor John Howell's Comments
 - C. Faculty Assembly Annual Report Caroline Ayers
 - D. Elections -- Due Process, Hearing, and Reconsideration Committees
 -- University Athletic Committee
 -- University Facilities Committee
 - E. Grants Awarded: University Research Committee
 Committee for Teaching Effectiveness
 Summer Grants Committee
- 4. Unfinished Business
- 5. Report of Committees
 - A. University Teaching Grants Sally Brett
 - B. University Curriculum Committee William Grossnickle Minutes of September 9, 1982:

1. Change B.S. in Urban & Regional Planning

- 2. BA/BS in Historical Preservation and Museum Administration
- C. Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Grievance Procedures Ione Ryan
- D. Credits Committee Charles Ward
- 6. New Business

Agenda Item 3D: Elections

1. Due Process Committee

The Due Process Committee guarantees that a <u>tenured faculty member</u> may not be discharged or suspended from employment without good and just cause. The Committee consists of five members and five alternates, all of whom must be members of the regular teaching faculty who hold permanent tenure.

Within ten days of receipt of the notice from the Chancellor or his delegate of intention to discharge him/her, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Due Process Committee.

The hearing deals only with those written specifications for reasons of the intended discharge or suspension. In reaching its decision, the committee shall consider only evidence presented at the hearing and such written and oral arguments as the committee, in its discretion, may allow. The faculty member has the right of appealing the committee's decision.

Current members:

Trenton Davis, Allied Health Lawrence Hough, Political Science Jack Thornton, Business	1983 1983 1984 1984
Members whose terms are expiring:	
Carolyn Bolt, Foreign Languages and Literatures Robert Hursey, Mathematics	1982
Current alternates:	
Anne Briley, Library Services Joe Davis, Mathematics Jim Rees, Drama & Speech	1983 1983 1984 1984
Alternates whose terms are expiring:	
Sally Brett, English Jim Wirth, Mathematics	1982

2. <u>Hearing Committee</u>

The Hearing Committee guarantees to <u>nontenured faculty members</u> the right of a hearing concerning an unfavorable action resulting in nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure.

Hearing Committee continued

The Hearing Committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative appointment.

Within five days after receiving notice of an unfavorable action concerning nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure resulting from the conference with the Chancellor, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Faculty Hearing Committee.

The Hearing Committee's review of the faculty member's case shall be limited solely to determining whether the decision not to reappoint or confer permenent tenure was based upon any of the grounds stated to be impermissible in Section 604B of The Code of the University of North Carolina.

The Hearing Committee shall consider the written request and grant a hearing if it determines that (a) the request contains a contention that the decision was based upon impermissible grounds under Section 604B of The Code and that (b) the facts suggested, if established, will support the contention.

Current members:

Carl Adler, Physics Mary Jo Bratton, History Judith Sadler, Library Science Donald Sexauer, Art	1983 1984 1984 1985
Members whose terms are expiring:	

Members whose terms are expiring.

Y.J. Lao, Allied Health, Chair	1982
--------------------------------	------

Current alternates:

Paula Johnson, Drama & Speech	1984
Charles McDonald, Biology	1983
Ed Powers, Marketing and Management	1983
David Sanders, English	1984
	1985

Alternates whose terms are expiring:

Floyd	Read,	Science	Education	1982
iluyu	neau,	Science	Luucacion	1300

3. Reconsideration Committee

This committee guarantees the right of tenured and nontenured faculty members to a hearing on termination of employment due to financial exigency or major curtailment or elimination of a teaching, research, or public service program.

Reconsideration Committee continued

The membership of the committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative rank.

If a faculty member makes a written request within ten days after receiving notice of termination of employment, the Chancellor or his delegate shall insure that the hearing is accorded before a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the Committee on Reconsideration of Faculty-Program Termination Decisions. The committee may consider only such evidence as is presented at the hearing and need consider only the evidence offered that it considers fair and reliable.

HI WIT TO VOTE HUNG! DOREGO PER STREET TREETS TREETS TO TO TO Current members:

Malcolm South, English Y.J. Lao, Allied Health (1.o.a. 1982-83) Robert Morrison, Chemistry Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science	1983 1984 1984 1985
Member whose term expires:	
Karen Hancock, HPERS	1982

Current Alternates:	Altownator.	Current

Karen Hancock, HPERS

Walter Calhoun, History	1984
Stella Daugherty, Mathematics	1984
Joseph Hill, Marketing and Management	1983
Artemis Kares, Library Services	1983
	1985

Alternate whose term expires:

1982

Agenda Item 3E:

Committee for Teaching Effectiveness Faculty Grants 1982-83

Thought and the state of the

Martha Engelke/Eldean Pierce	\$150.00
Jean Golden/Susan McCammon	485.00
Gregory Ross	500.00
Douglas McMillan	445.00
Dale Light	1075.00
Vincent Mikkelsen	875.00
Antonia Dalapas	600.00
Robert Wendling/Tim Brinn	335.00
Gerhard Kalmus	275.00

Agenda Item 3E:

SUMMER GRANTS 1982

Entenna Eur Fur File El moran - Monant Europe

Robert Gowen, History	\$1250	36 Epetts
Philip Adler, History	2500	
Charles Snow, Home Economics	2500	
Gregory Ross, Philosophy	1250	
Wendall Allen, Biology	1250	
W. James Smith, Biology	1250	
C.W. Sullivan, English	1250	
W. Stephenson, English	1250	Vebrout
Wendall Allen, Biology	1250	S. SUPSUF
W. James Smith, Biology	1250	

FACULTY SENATE AND AGENDA COMMITTEE DATES OF MEETINGS FOR 1982/83

Agenda Committee meetings at 2:00 p.m. in Rawl Annex 142.
Faculty Senate Meetings at 2:10 p.m. in Mendenhall Room 221.

Tuesday, September 7, 1982 - Agenda Tuesday, September 21, 1982 - Senate

Tuesday, September 28, 1982 - Agenda Tuesday, October 12, 1982 - Senate

Tuesday, November 2, 1982 - Agenda Tuesday, November 16, 1982 - Senate

Tuesday, November 23, 1982 - Agenda Tuesday, December 7, 1982 - Senate

Tuesday, January 11, 1983 - Agenda Tuesday, January 25, 1983 - Senate

Tuesday, February 1, 1983 - Agenda Tuesday, February 15, 1983 - Senate

Tuesday, March 1, 1983 - Agenda Tuesday, March 15, 1983 - Senate

Tuesday, April 5, 1983 - Agenda Tuesday, April 19, 1983 - Senate

Wednesday, April 20, 1983 - Organizational Meeting